Switch Theme:

Does the Necron Obelisk's "Gravity Pulse" allow for cover saves?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

Like the title says, can the s8 ap4 hit caused by "Gravity Pulse" allow cover saves (i.e. jink) to be taken against it? I just want to confirm before I field the Obelisk since it could make a large impact in the game.

Here's the rules quote for the rule for those of you who don't have immediate access to it

Gravity Pulse: At the start of every Shooting phase (friendly and enemy) any enemy Flyers or Skimmers within 24" of a powered up Obelisk suffer a Strength 8 AP4 hit, resolved against their side armour.

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I would say no because the correct wording for jink is when targeted, before the roll to hit is made you can choose to jink. Since this doesn't roll to hit it can't jink


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Other than that normal cover saves should be able to be taken for intervening models and stuff, just not jink unless already jinking

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/07 19:02:03


 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






They cannot elect to jink from it no. They can however take cover saves where applicable (i.e. skimmer that jinked during your shooting phase, would still have its jink save againgst it at the start of his own shooting phase).

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

Alright thanks for the clarification! Would they benefit from intervening models and being obscured? Or would it just be from things like stealth, and already jinking, etc.

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






They would benefit from being 25% obscured from the Obelisk.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: