Switch Theme:

Chapter Master Orbital Bombardment question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oceanic

An Orbital Bombardment is fired during the shooting phase using the profile listed, Ordnance 1, large blah etc etc.

But the rules in firing ordnance state a non-vehicle model CARRYING an ordnance weapon can not fire it during the ensuing movement phase if he moved prior to shooting.

Is it safe to say since he's calling an orbital bombardment, a non-relentless Chapter Master can still move and call the bombardment?

Also, if he's flying in a stormraven, can he call the bombardment, if hes in his transport and on the table?

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiJ5Xnv1ClgVcGmmb-zQBlw

Perils of the Wallet - YouTube Channel 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





I'm leaving the first one alone as it's not a question that'd ever be asked at a table.
The second is trivial - cite permission to fire from a transport without firing points.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oceanic

rigeld2 wrote:
I'm leaving the first one alone as it's not a question that'd ever be asked at a table.
The second is trivial - cite permission to fire from a transport without firing points.


You don't have to have LoS when firing an Orbital Bombardment. So, my logic is since he's calling it in from an Orbital platform, why would he need a firing port?

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiJ5Xnv1ClgVcGmmb-zQBlw

Perils of the Wallet - YouTube Channel 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






Johnnytorrance wrote:
An Orbital Bombardment is fired during the shooting phase using the profile listed, Ordnance 1, large blah etc etc.

But the rules in firing ordnance state a non-vehicle model CARRYING an ordnance weapon can not fire it during the ensuing movement phase if he moved prior to shooting.

Is it safe to say since he's calling an orbital bombardment, a non-relentless Chapter Master can still move and call the bombardment?

Also, if he's flying in a stormraven, can he call the bombardment, if hes in his transport and on the table?


Yea... no. For all rules purposes the OB is treated as a weapon the CM is carrying. This means no moving and shooting unless relentless, and he cannot fire the weapon if there is no fire point on the vehicle.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Logic and Reason do not matter in an abstract system, the Rule states a Firing Point is required.
Still interesting hair splitting on the carrying thing though, does one 'carry' a Special Rule when it is fired as a Weapon?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/11 04:06:21


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Johnnytorrance wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
I'm leaving the first one alone as it's not a question that'd ever be asked at a table.
The second is trivial - cite permission to fire from a transport without firing points.


You don't have to have LoS when firing an Orbital Bombardment. So, my logic is since he's calling it in from an Orbital platform, why would he need a firing port?

Becuase youre still firing a weapon, and what does firing a weapon require when embarked?
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker





I had a guy that works for games work shop do this in a match we was playing with the forge world rhino with that very chapter master so yes it can be done also the rhino he was in had a 1 time use one as well.

Some Must Be Told. Others Must Be Shown.
Blood Angels- 15000
Dark Angels-7800
Sisters of Battle- 5000
Space Wolves- 5000 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Blue/Black/Redshirts, in general, know less than the average gamer does about the actual rules of the game
   
Made in us
Road-Raging Blood Angel Biker





His rolls was bad so it drifted off into nothing hit.

Some Must Be Told. Others Must Be Shown.
Blood Angels- 15000
Dark Angels-7800
Sisters of Battle- 5000
Space Wolves- 5000 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Maybe in order to call down an orbital bombardment the GK captain/chaptermaster has to steadily illuminate an area with a complex device that doesn't work well when shaken, such as when moving around a battlefield. So fluff reasons why he has to be stationary and needs a firing port, in support of the rules.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Of course a GK captain is in terminator armour, and so is relentless and counts as stationary anyway, and so many chaptermasters seem to come on bikes nowadays, conferring the same thing....
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Oceanic

nosferatu1001 wrote:
Johnnytorrance wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
I'm leaving the first one alone as it's not a question that'd ever be asked at a table.
The second is trivial - cite permission to fire from a transport without firing points.


You don't have to have LoS when firing an Orbital Bombardment. So, my logic is since he's calling it in from an Orbital platform, why would he need a firing port?

Becuase youre still firing a weapon, and what does firing a weapon require when embarked?


When you're calling an orbital bombardment, you're not firing. You're using your mouth to tell the gunner on the ship in space to shoot it at the location you desire.

That's why I'm asking the question.

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiJ5Xnv1ClgVcGmmb-zQBlw

Perils of the Wallet - YouTube Channel 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Johnnytorrance wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Johnnytorrance wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
I'm leaving the first one alone as it's not a question that'd ever be asked at a table.
The second is trivial - cite permission to fire from a transport without firing points.


You don't have to have LoS when firing an Orbital Bombardment. So, my logic is since he's calling it in from an Orbital platform, why would he need a firing port?

Becuase youre still firing a weapon, and what does firing a weapon require when embarked?


When you're calling an orbital bombardment, you're not firing. You're using your mouth to tell the gunner on the ship in space to shoot it at the location you desire.

That's why I'm asking the question.


The rules state you are shooting, therefore, you are shooting. Since you are shooting a weapon that requires you to remain stationary (unless you have the relentless USR or some other rule overriding this), you must remain stationary (or not shoot that weapon), just as you must have a fire-point if embarked upon a vehicle, and any other rules that apply to shooting.
Fluff is irrelevant.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/11 16:45:07


 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Regardless of the fact that it has infinite range you are still measuring and you cannot measure a firing attack from a non existent fire point.

Logic =/= rules :/

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Johnnytorrance wrote:
nosferatu1001 wrote:
Johnnytorrance wrote:
rigeld2 wrote:
I'm leaving the first one alone as it's not a question that'd ever be asked at a table.
The second is trivial - cite permission to fire from a transport without firing points.


You don't have to have LoS when firing an Orbital Bombardment. So, my logic is since he's calling it in from an Orbital platform, why would he need a firing port?

Becuase youre still firing a weapon, and what does firing a weapon require when embarked?


When you're calling an orbital bombardment, you're not firing. You're using your mouth to tell the gunner on the ship in space to shoot it at the location you desire.

That's why I'm asking the question.

No, you are firing. As that is what the rules unequivocally state you are doing.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: