Switch Theme:

Alllies in Dedicated Transports?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Nimble Mounted Yeoman






Hi Guys,

The manager of my local games workshop has been suggesting I run my Howling Banshees in a Raider with Dark Eldar as an allied detachment, and is assuring me it fits the rules, but everything I read online seems to point to the opposite.. He's saying since 7th it's legal, is this true? (And no, he's not talking about unbound)

Just want to make sure before I try and do it (I'm fairly new to the hobby/rules)

Eldar & Vampire Counts painting blog - http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/614354.page 
   
Made in au
Nurgle Predator Driver with an Infestation



Perth, Western Australia

They would need to start outside the Transport, then embark turn 1.
   
Made in gb
Purposeful Hammerhead Pilot





London

could you also start them embarked but in reserves?

Our FLGS
https://www.facebook.com/Warboar
https://twitter.com/warboarstore
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 Messy0 wrote:
could you also start them embarked but in reserves?

No. Only the unit that owns the dedicated transport (and any attached ICs) can start the game in it.

 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

If you are taking the raider as a heavy choice, and NOT a dedicated transport you may start battle brother allies embarked.

If it is a dedicated transport choice, as stated, only the unit that took it can embark on deployment
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




...and any attached ICs, which could include BB ICs.
   
Made in au
Nimble Mounted Yeoman






Rorschach9 wrote:
If you are taking the raider as a heavy choice, and NOT a dedicated transport you may start battle brother allies embarked.

If it is a dedicated transport choice, as stated, only the unit that took it can embark on deployment


The raider is only listed in the DE Codex as a dedicated transport, or can they be taken as other slots too?

Eldar & Vampire Counts painting blog - http://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/614354.page 
   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee





There was a restriction in 6th that prevented units from getting in allied transports. This was removed in 7th (specifically countered)

Dedicated transports may not start with any other unit in them other than the unit they were purchased for. You can deploy the transport empty as well. Once deployed, any battle brother unit can use them. So, banshees can deploy next to an empty raider, hop in turn 1, and then the raider can make its full move.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
And to your last question, no. You have to buy a unit that can take a raider, then upgrade the unit with a raider.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Finally, to skip to tactics : haemonculi + 3 wracks. Satisfies all the criteria for an allied detachment, costs 80 points, and lets you buy a raider

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/13 21:24:52


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: