Switch Theme:

Can royal courts be split off to units from different detatchments?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





Some Tomb World in some galaxy by that one thing in that one place (or Minnesota for nosy people)

I may be running a list that could take advantage of this so I was just curious before I tried pulling any shenanigans at a RTT to test it out

"Put your 1st best against you opponents 2nd best, your 2nd best against their 3rd best, and your 3rd best against their 1st best"-Sun Tzu's Art of War

"If your not winning, try a bigger sword! Usually works..."

10k
2k
500 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

It appears to be legal, as there is nothing restricting the RC members to being attached to units from their detachments (nee army).

I don't think it is intended, however, I have no proof of that.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/13 18:40:09


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





it is not legal to split the royal court to different detachments.

from the main rulebook under " Army List Entries That Do Not Use Force Organization Slots"

If the Army List Entry states that it can be included in an army that includes another specified unit, and that it does not take up a Force Organisation slot, it must join the same Detachment as that specified unit.


You can include a Royal court if you include an overlord. It therefore is a slotless entry that requires the overlord to be included in your army. As such it must be in the same detachment as the specified unit that allows you to take it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/13 18:48:36


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

blaktoof, all that is saying is that the Royal Court has to part of the same Detachment.

However, there is nothing restricting the individual models from joining units in other detachments.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





uhhh....

Yes there is. Once a member of the RC is joined to a unit from its detachment it cannot leave it for any reason.

Even if split off from the RC the model is still bought from that detachment from the unlock of the necron overlord, so it has to join that detachment.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/13 19:07:09


 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It states it must "join" the detachment, not join a unit within the detachment. I.e. The Rc cannot be part of another detachments roster, but nothing states the models from the unit csnnot be attached to units within another detachment. You're reading more into the rules than actually exists
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





maybe I am.

I am assuming that join detachment means it has to be joined to a squad in the detachment, but not all slotless force org items can be joined to an unit as some are themselves units like tyrant guard.

I do agree that there is nothing that specifically says they can not be attached to units within another detachment after further thinking on it.

The item that then gets weird is the slot less rules specify that they are still part of their detachment, so they would get the command benefits of their detachment and not that of a unit they join from another detachment which is specified under the slotless units section in choosing your army. This is pretty moot for necrons currently, but does affect orks as and gets into a deep gray area when you consider the wording "count as part of their unit for all purposes". Maybe unit bonuses =/= detachment bonuses.

edit-- nm ork meks state that they have to be assigned to a unit in their detachment.

necrons will probably get the same ruling in a faq or next codex, but currently its not there.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/08/13 22:47:03


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: