Switch Theme:

Allied Independent Characters and starting the game in a dedicated transport.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian




Quotes from the small rulebook:

P82: 'The only limitation of a dedicated transport is that when it is deployed, it can only carry the unit it was selected with (plus any independent characters that have joined it).'

P127: (battle brother units) 'can be joined by an independent character that is a battle brother.'

P166: 'An independent character can begin the game already with a unit, either by being deployed in the unit coherency or if the unit is in reserve, by you informing the opponent of which unit it has joined.'

Am I missing something? Why can't battle brother ICs be deployed at the start of a battle in a dedicated transport with a unit, such as in a drop pod?

What rule prevents them but not ICs fron the same faction?

I guess it is there because that is how everybody plays it - but I can't find it! Help please.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/15 21:06:28


 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

They can. In 6th edition it was debatable, but this is one thing GW actually clarified.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in gb
Prophetic Blood Angel Librarian




 Happyjew wrote:
They can. In 6th edition it was debatable, but this is one thing GW actually clarified.


They can? Excellent! Thank you! It must be that peiple haven't caught up!
   
Made in ca
Lieutenant Colonel






yup the rule is 100% clarified now,

ICs go into allied transports at deployment as if they were part of the unit

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: