Switch Theme:

Firing outta of a Stompa during combat?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Firing outta of a Stompa during combat?
Yes
No

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver







Units in transports can fire out of them, but other transports don't fight in CC like dreadnoughts.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Off the Top of my head I can not think of a Restriction that would prevent a secondary, embarked, Unit from firing during the Shooting Phase.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Gore-Soaked Lunatic Witchhunter




Seattle

Having not seen the rules for the Stompa first-hand, is it Open Topped or does it have any Firing Points like other vehicles that permit an embarked unit to fire out of them?

It is best to be a pessimist. You are usually right and, when you're wrong, you're pleasantly surprised. 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






 Psienesis wrote:
Having not seen the rules for the Stompa first-hand, is it Open Topped or does it have any Firing Points like other vehicles that permit an embarked unit to fire out of them?
It has Firing Points.
I'd say RAW they can fire out as they are not locked in combat themselves, obviously not into the unit locked in combat (which might also obscure other units as per Intervening Models, page 38). Though I suspect it's another of these things about passengers that might get Errata'd at a later date (lol, j/k) like Jinking and passengers.
   
Made in gb
Battleship Captain




Firstly, they are not locked in combat, so (allowing for movement) there is no reason they couldn't fire.

Secondly, looking at the model and thinking 'what would happen' - if you can fire out of a lurching firing point in a stompa anyway, the fact that someone is trying to fix krak grenades to the feet isn't going to affect passengers when the firing points are all up in the belly.

As noted, all other restrictions will still apply. So no using burnas if you have them, since it'll probably be impossible to place the template without clipping a model locked in combat with the stompa.

Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

I'm going with no here. Unlike other transports this giant walker is locked in combat. It's not free to move away in its turn freeing up the passengers to do as they please. You however can get out of the stomps and join into the combat, or free to fire away.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Its shady, but I see no RAW restrictions.

Likewise there is no restriction on disembarking from it while it is locked in combat, and obviously they are not part of the combat themselves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/19 20:49:58


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: