Switch Theme:

karamazov and battlements  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




So... Karamazov can't embark upon vehicles or buildings.

Can I deploy him on the battlements of a bastion?

   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






I don't see anything restricting it. Just note that he'd have to make a difficult terrain test to get down which in the case of most battlements will make it impossible.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




couple of follow ups...

I assume I am late to the party, but it seems that the Orbital Strike Relay is significantly different between the GK codex and the Inq codex. The former can fire every turn (assuming no movement), and the latter can only fire once per game.

Am I missing something??


Second, the Inq weapon profile uses the rule/attiribute "Orbital". I realize it means "always scatters 2d6"; but where in the codex is this explained?

thanks
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Well GW goofed big time with the codex: inquisition in that they didn't actually put everything the inquisitors had in the book (im guessing since grey knight codex covered most of it).

With the inquisitors being removed from codex: grey knights this leaves really big holes.

They will have to add it to the FAQ's if they have not done so already.

To my knowledge, the difference between the 2 is as follows:
Orbital Strike (on GK grandmaster) 1 shot, str10, ap1, barrage, orbital.
Orbital Strike Relay (on karamoz) Str8, ap3, barrage, orbital

I have the codex: inquisition though and its stats are not in the book I believe.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




The stats are in the book, and they match exactly (even the 3 shot variants) except for 2 bits.

1) the Inq OSR can only be used once per game; the GK OSR can be used each turn the model doesn't move.

2) The GK description spells out that it always scatters 2D6"; the Inq just gives it the Orbital special rule. But I can't find where it actually defines what 'orbital' means....


   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





ok the Inq. does not have OSR eqt. sept for Karamazov which is the same as GK. Your confusing the warlord trait of same name.

Orbital rule is in the warlord traits.

Karamazov can fire every turn as long as doesn't move

And it is not a barrage weapon he needs line of site it is in the faq

and the stats for all three different shots is found under range weapons

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/08/19 06:07:20


 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






Karamazov is Relentless so he can fire and move still.

The INQ codex doesn't explain the Orbital rule, but that is only defined in Codex: Space Marines. Whether we have to refer to that is up for grabs.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





it does look under warlord traits. i'm looking at it right now.

   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






Steel Angel wrote:
it does look under warlord traits. i'm looking at it right now.



You're right. It's the same as the Space Marine one.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





hmm your right also the new wording for OSR doesn't say anything about having to stand still to use anymore.
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






It's still an Ordnance weapon so you need to Relentless of S&P or stand still.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Lets review:

There is Karamazov in the GK book, and Karamazov in the Inq book.

They both have the *wargear* Orbital Strike Relay.

OSR is almost the exact same in both books, *except*:
In GK,
you *cannot* move (relentless does *not* matter)
it can be used every turn.
It scatters a full 2D6 *every* time (even 'hits')

In Inq,
No restriction on movement, but two profiles are Ordnance,
you can only use it *once* per game.
If it scatters, it is a full 2D6" (but a hit is a hit)


Neither is barrage... but it seems to make a pretty big difference if Karamazov is form GK or from Inq.

That seems stupid.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/20 17:45:21


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





not totally true you can use it more then once. people confuse the war trait OSR with the range weapon OSR that Karamy has their to diff things.


One is Wargear. the other A warlord Trait.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/20 15:35:09


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Steel Angel wrote:
not totally true you can use it more then once. people confuse the war trait OSR with the range weapon OSR that Karamy has their to diff things.


One is Wargear. the other A warlord Trait.


Yes, I know. And when I look up the *wargear* in the Ranged Weapons section, the very first thing it says is: "Once per game, the bearer can call down an orbital strike in his Shooting phase."

So unless that is a typo of some sort.....
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






Well given that Karamazov's entry is completely separate AND has different weapon profiles (3 of them in fact)....

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

I can clarify the rules for the current version (2014) of the Inquisition Codex (I believe coredump is referencing the 2013 version).
Warlord Trait - Burner of Worlds

"Once per game... counts as firing a ranged weapon... does not prevent an assault..."

Range - Infinite
S10 AP1 Large Blast, Ordnance 1, Barrage, Orbital

"Orbital: If an arrow is rolled on the scatter dice, an orbital bombardment always scatters the full 2D6” – the Warlord’s Ballistic Skill makes no difference."

Wargear - Orbital Strike Relay

"Can call down in shooting phase (no 'once per game' restriction)... counts as firing ranged weapon... does not prevent an assault..."

3 different profiles

S6 AP4, Ordnance D3, Large Blast, Orbital
S10 AP1, Heavy 1, Lance, Blast, Orbital
S6 AP4, Ordnance 1, Large Blast, Psi-shock, Orbital

Karamazov has "Orbital Strike Relay" as part of his wargear and his Warlord Trait is 'Witchhunter'.

Hope that helps!

DoW

P.S. If this is too many quoted rules, Admins please feel free to edit down to something more reasonable. Thanks!

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




I can clarify the rules for the current version (2014) of the Inquisition Codex (I believe coredump is referencing the 2013 version).


Ah..... that could be a problem. I will go check BL and see what I am missing.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Well.... that makes a difference. The update allows for repeated use.

They left in the bit about the "Warlord and unit" can still charge. So if Karamazov is not the warlord... and he use OSR and still charge


This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/08/20 20:19:52


 
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






Even if he is the Warlord and happens to roll that trait, he can choose which version to use anyway.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
Ship's Officer





Reading, UK

 Shandara wrote:
Even if he is the Warlord and happens to roll that trait, he can choose which version to use anyway.
No, the Inquisition version of Karamazov specifically cannot roll on the table in the BRB.

BRB 'Warlord' Section - "Many Unique Independent Characters are listed as having a specific Warlord Trait in their Army List Entry. If such a unit is your Warlord, do not roll on a Warlord Trait table – instead, that unit automatically has the listed Warlord Trait."

He will always have the 'Witchhunter' Warlord trait.

DoW

"War. War never changes." - Fallout

4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

It's a pretty cool deal. He can move a fire, and once per shooting phase. Unless of course he is snap firing. Then he can use his melt a.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: