Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 22:06:30
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Pretty straight forward, we can't find the rule that says swarms may not board transports. It's not in the rules for Swarms. Is it somewhere else in the rulebook.
2nd to that something that has shrouded and rides in a transport, does it grant shrouded to it?
Finally
What are your thoughts on a Chaos Landraider with 8 Swarms and Two heralds with Lesser and Greater icons.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 22:09:54
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
1. As long as they are Infantry (not including Jet Pack or Jump) and the transport in question does not forbid it, there is nothing that disallows it.
2. The bonus from Shrouded is granted to the unit. Is the transport part of the unit? If it is you will run into numerous issues that break the game.
3. No opinion as I do not play Chaos. I just crush them. Or die trying. And trying. And trying...
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 22:13:02
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
To my knowledge, there is nothing which prevents a Model with the Swarm special Rule from Embarking into a Transport. There are Restrictions which prevents certain Unit Types from Embarking, in fact all of them bar a single Unit Type, which is likely to be what is preventing this particular Model from Embarking into a Transport. It is possible there is a specific Model which has the right Unit Type and the Swarm Special Rule, but I can not bring one foremost to my mind. The Transport is a separate Unit entirely, even when purchased as a Dedicated Transport, and only gains access to the Rules on Embarked Passengers if they specifically state they transfer to the Transport.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/20 22:16:09
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 22:24:42
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Well this is what shrouding states
Shrouded
The source of the darkness around these warriors matters not – only a lucky shot has any chance of piercing the shroud that hides them from view.
A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule counts its cover save as being 2 points better than normal. Note that this means a model with the Shrouded special rule always has a cover save of at least 5+, even if it’s in the open.
Does a transport contain a model that has shrouding?
Seems like just normally written English that a transport does in fact contain models that are embarked.
Of course English wise that actually means units containing models.
Dunno is my answer.
I can't find anything stating that Swarms cannot in fact board transports still.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/20 22:27:44
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 22:29:24
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
You're missing an important word from Shrouded:
Shrouded
The source of the darkness around these warriors matters not – only a lucky shot has any chance of piercing the shroud that hides them from view.
A unit that contains at least one model with this special rule counts its cover save as being 2 points better than normal. Note that this means a model with the Shrouded special rule always has a cover save of at least 5+, even if it’s in the open.
So does the unit of the transport have shrouded in light of the fact that the transport and the embarked unit are separate units?
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 22:32:38
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The subject matter is A Unit which contains a Model, so why would it be referring to a secondary Unit which the Model does not belong to? There is also secondary considerations to take into account, that being that the Transport never physically 'contains' the Embarked Unit from both a Real world and a Rule based point of view. These Models are not physically placed into the Transport, the vast majority of the time they wouldn't fit even if the Transport was designed to accept other Models into it. The Models in question are actually removed completely from play, so even the Rules don't require the Models to occupy a space theoretically 'contained' inside the vehicle....
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/20 22:37:05
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 22:59:31
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
I think the same situation comes up with the Landspeeder transport, does it get a bonus to shrouding?
I don't think it does.
So probably doesn't but the main thing really was figuring out if in fact you can transport swarms. So kind of sidetracked.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 23:01:13
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
It does not, as it is not a Unit containing a Model with the Shroud Special Rule.
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 23:06:13
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Yeah that's what I was thinking as well. I think though this issue has come up before with Shrouding and Transports and it is in fact a does not work thing.
However, now correct me if I am wrong if you put Nurglings in a Landraider in reserve, would it gain Outflank or Infiltrate or whatever?
It's bought as a normal transport not a Dedicated Transport.
I don't think it would.
The main issue here is us just definitively arguing whether Nurglings can get inside transports.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/20 23:06:41
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 23:07:42
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Honestly, I have to check their Unit Type before I can state for certain if they are allowed to Embark. I expect to find out that they are Beast or something.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/20 23:08:06
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 23:17:06
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Nurglings are Infantry with the Swarms special rule.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 23:23:54
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
To refer to the OP, I assume by greater and lesser icons you mean loci?
That won't fly as only the strongest loci can be in effect at any given time.
Yes, Nurglings as Infantry can embark in a transport,
Shrouded would not confer, it might be a little muddier if the transport was a dedicated transport, but as that isn't possible in this scenario, no.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 23:34:46
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Yes, and that's a rule I always forget that the most powerful overrides it Yay for us on another unit to add to the Chaos Tactic thread. Mechanized Chaos Continues! 3 Landraiders full of nurglings and Heralds w/ Biomancy, roll forth.
What about Infiltrate though, Nurglings come with infiltrate or is that only on dedicated transports? It only seems to apply to dedicated transports but does it apply to outflanking ? They're seperate entries.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/08/20 23:38:36
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 23:44:19
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Infiltrate only confers to Dedicated Transports and it is by virtue of having Infiltrate that the unit also gains Outflank.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 23:44:27
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
The Daemon Possessing Fulgrim's Body
|
Infiltrators may Outflank.
We only have permission to confer Infiltrate to dedicated transports, so no, no outflanking Land Raiders full of Nurglings, tragically.
|
We find comfort among those who agree with us - growth among those who don't. - Frank Howard Clark
The wise man doubts often, and changes his mind; the fool is obstinate, and doubts not; he knows all things but his own ignorance.
The correct statement of individual rights is that everyone has the right to an opinion, but crucially, that opinion can be roundly ignored and even made fun of, particularly if it is demonstrably nonsense!” Professor Brian Cox
Ask me about
Barnstaple Slayers Club |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/20 23:56:49
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Oh well can't have everything I guess we'll just have to settle for them at least being able to embark with heralds.
Which is good it's the only way to get a Herald w/ a Troop in a Transport.
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 01:23:02
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
but, you could roll the nurglings and heralds in raiders with belakor close by to cast shrouding on the raiders for a +2 cover save, with smoke launchers!
iron armed nurglings hahaha, brilliant stuff there!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 02:05:37
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
Unfortunately Iron Arm doesn't affect Nurgling but I was thinking Chaos Space Marine Sorcerer w/ Telepathy Bike Squad and Shrouding!!
Belakor he's to expensive!!! So good but sooooo expensive!!
Now a Nurgling Herald w/ Level 2 Biomancy ( plus he auto gets a AP3 Poisoned 4+ Template Psychic Attack), w/ ST5 AP2 if he get's Iron Arm sounds good to me.
Has anyone had any luck finding where it says units with the swarm special rule cannot ride in transports?
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/08/21 03:33:17
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 04:36:39
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Savage Khorne Berserker Biker
|
no rule books with me, but why can't.the nurglings get iron armed? because they're swarms?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 05:22:01
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
zachwho wrote:no rule books with me, but why can't.the nurglings get iron armed? because they're swarms?
Because Iron Arm affects the Psyker, not the unit he's with.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 08:17:49
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Chicago, Illinois
|
rigeld2 wrote: zachwho wrote:no rule books with me, but why can't.the nurglings get iron armed? because they're swarms?
Because Iron Arm affects the Psyker, not the unit he's with.
Don't guess you found where you could not in fact put a swarm in a vehicle?
|
If I lose it is because I had bad luck, if you win it is because you cheated. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/21 13:46:32
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
The Hive Mind
|
Hollismason wrote:rigeld2 wrote: zachwho wrote:no rule books with me, but why can't.the nurglings get iron armed? because they're swarms?
Because Iron Arm affects the Psyker, not the unit he's with.
Don't guess you found where you could not in fact put a swarm in a vehicle?
Asked and answered. If they're infantry there's nothing stopping you from what I can see.
|
My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2181/06/21 21:15:25
Subject: Can Nurgling Swarms ride in Transports ? Also, do they give it Shrouded?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
So, this appears to have been answered and segued into a tactics discussion, so moving on...
|
|
|
 |
 |
|