Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/22 23:19:36
Subject: Can a Mixed Detachment of Regular CSM and Crimson Slaughter...
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
So the rules pretty clearly indicate that you can mix non-supplement units in with supplement units in an organization chart as long as that supplement is for the parent codex (faction).
So I can bring a regular CSM Chaos Lord ina detachment full of Crimson Slaughter. I'm not sure in this case how you could call the detachment a Crimson Slaughter detachment (or a 'regular' CSM detachment for that matter). So...
Question 1
Would that Chaos Lord gain Fear?
Question 2
Would that Chaos Lord have access to only main CSM codex artifacts, Crimson Slaughter artifacts, or both? (i.e. could that Chaos Lord take an Axe of Blind Fury, a Balestar, or either?)
Question 3
Could that detachment bring Possessed as Troop Choices?
(what a friggin mess)
|
This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 2014/08/22 23:27:38
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 01:53:14
Subject: Can a Mixed Detachment of Regular CSM and Crimson Slaughter...
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
What Rules the Models gain access to is dependent on which Detachment they are selected for, not which Codex/Supplement they are selected out of. So while it is entirely legal to mix a Codex and Supplement together in a single Detachment, as they are all the same Faction, it is pointless to actually do so. For Example: A Chaos Lord selected from the Supplement would only have access to the Supplement Artifacts only if it was placed into a Crimson Slaughter Detachment. A Vanilla Chaos Lord placed into the same Detachment will loose access to the default Artifacts, as the Rules would now require that Chaos Lord to select from the Crimson Slaughter's Artifact Lists because he is in the Crimson Slaughter Detachment.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/23 01:56:24
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/23 03:30:05
Subject: Can a Mixed Detachment of Regular CSM and Crimson Slaughter...
|
 |
Thane of Dol Guldur
|
For context, the question came up in another thread where a gamer wanted to legally play both Crimson Slaughter and also have an HQ with the Blind Axe of Fury, for fluff reasons presumably, and was confused about how to do so and stay compliant with the rules.
This got me thinking about the other questions I posed.
Honestly the whole faction thing they put in the new FOC rules is an ill-thought-out mess (nothing new here I suppose). They should have kept it as simple as possible and limited detachments to either a codex OR a supplement, and used allies to let players achieve what this gamer wants.
The way the rules were written leads to the stupendously ridiculous scenario where a Chaos Space Marine army can ally with an arch-enemy, but can't even ally with a Black Legion or Crimson Slaughter detachment.
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/08/23 03:57:01
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/24 02:46:32
Subject: Can a Mixed Detachment of Regular CSM and Crimson Slaughter...
|
 |
Hoary Long Fang with Lascannon
Armageddon, Pry System, Armageddon Sector, Armageddon Sub-sector, Segmentum Solar.
|
Ah that's where you're wrong. Allied rules are not the same as allied detachments. While you can't use the allied detachment you can use a second CAD. And for all intents and purposes they are apart of the same faction. Which means they may share and benifit from eachothers factions specific rules.
|
|
 |
 |
|