Switch Theme:

Harpy Spore Mine cysts - Assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Good evening everyone,

I am looking for advice or evidence to support if I may or may not assault with a spore mine cluster which was fired by a Harpies 'Spore mine cysts' but missed it's target. Basically, I missed my target and placed the cysts in the movement phase but now it's the assault phase and they are like 1" away from there target. The cysts are not entering from reserve or deep striking, they are placed and "act as a Spore Mine Cluster" from that point on. On the same note, I am curious if this conclusion applies to the Clusters created from a Biovore attack as well.

Notes:
--The cysts scatter only 1D6 but depending on where you place the large blast marker (Like centered or towards the edge of a models base), you can miss the model on a scatter of 6" with a BS of 3. So it is possible to miss and thus place D3 spore mines.
--Pg 65 Tyranid Codex (Spore Burst) - "These act as a Spore Mine Cluster for the rest of the game"
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




I was curious about this as well, and think you'd be able to assault with spore mines the turn they come into play. Kinda goofy, but I can't find anything against it. FAQ or errata?
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




No FAQ or Errata via GW's Black Library. Until evidence is posted, I will play that Clusters 'may' assault the turn they are dropped due to the last line on Pg 65 cited in my initial post. I see nothing stating a restriction and I have supporting evidence that they act like a normal cluster from the point of being dropped in the movement phase. Items restricting assaults are induced by things like reserves, deep striking and specific restrictions but I haven't found any yet and I am trying to find them...
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

They can assault, they didn't arrive from reserves, nor did they Deep Strike.

Same goes for when a Biovore misses.

Useful for soaking up overwatch

YMDC = nightmare 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: