Switch Theme:

MA L3 and ARO's from Outside CC  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





I am wondering how Striking first from MA L3 in CC affects enemy ARO's shooting into the combat. If the 2 models start in CC or an impersonator moves into CC then executes a CC skill and the enemy has units that can see the combat and ARO to shoot, do these AROs have the -6 to hit if I kill the enemy in CC with my first strike capability? What if the enemy model in CC just goes unconscious?

-F
________________________________________________
https://thesteeldawn.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader





Near London, UK

This is one of the big brouhahas about how first strike rules work in Infinity (and part of why first strike seems to be going out of the window in 3rd Edition).

Personally though, I'd say that they get a clear shot, given you're out of CC for at least some portion of the order. In any case, the situation is not changed by the opposing model merely being unconscious, as you no longer count as in CC if your opponent is incapacitated.

DR:80S(GT)G(FAQ)M++++B++I+Pinq01/f+D++A++/sWD236R++++T(S)DM+
Project log - Leander, 54mm scale Mars pattern Warhound titan 
   
Made in gb
Camouflaged Ariadna Scout





Leeds, UK

You have two different situations in the examples that you mention. The first is both models starting in base to base contact. So active model declares CC using MA3. The model in base contact can only declare CC or dodge which would be resolved after the MA attack. Any models with LOF would declare their AROs before the MA attack is resolved so they would still be shooting into a combat with a friendly model regardless of the outcome of the MA attack. So they would be shooting into combat with a -6 modifier.

The second situation is an impersonator moving into base contact and then attacking using MA3 with its second short skill. Again the model in base contact can only ARO with CC or dodge as the impersonator isn't revealed until its in base contact with the model. Models with LOF would still only be able to ARO at the point where the model is revealed, so once it gets into base contact, at which point its in CC with a friendly model. So again any AROs after the model is revealed would be shooting into combat with the -6 modifier.

Heres a link to an example of AROs against camo models moving into base contact but it would apply equally to impersonators. http://infinitythegame.wikispot.org/Camouflage_Example



Link to my Gallery. 
   
Made in us
Zealous Sin-Eater



Chico, CA

MA 3 only works in CC, if the other guy decided to shoot it is a FtF roll.

Peter: As we all know, Christmas is that mystical time of year when the ghost of Jesus rises from the grave to feast on the flesh of the living! So we all sing Christmas Carols to lull him back to sleep.
Bob: Outrageous, How dare he say such blasphemy. I've got to do something.
Man #1: Bob, there's nothing you can do.
Bob: Well, I guess I'll just have to develop a sense of humor.  
   
Made in gb
Camouflaged Ariadna Scout





Leeds, UK

Noir wrote:
MA 3 only works in CC, if the other guy decided to shoot it is a FtF roll.


Which other guy? In both examples the model being attacked in CC is in base contact with the MA3 model before it can react so there is no shooting ARO. If its the models shooting from outside the CC then they are unopposed so would be normal rolls not FtF.



Link to my Gallery. 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User





 bantha_beast wrote:
You have two different situations in the examples that you mention. The first is both models starting in base to base contact. So active model declares CC using MA3. The model in base contact can only declare CC or dodge which would be resolved after the MA attack. Any models with LOF would declare their AROs before the MA attack is resolved so they would still be shooting into a combat with a friendly model regardless of the outcome of the MA attack. So they would be shooting into combat with a -6 modifier.

The second situation is an impersonator moving into base contact and then attacking using MA3 with its second short skill. Again the model in base contact can only ARO with CC or dodge as the impersonator isn't revealed until its in base contact with the model. Models with LOF would still only be able to ARO at the point where the model is revealed, so once it gets into base contact, at which point its in CC with a friendly model. So again any AROs after the model is revealed would be shooting into combat with the -6 modifier.

Heres a link to an example of AROs against camo models moving into base contact but it would apply equally to impersonators. http://infinitythegame.wikispot.org/Camouflage_Example


This seems to make the most sense to me. Especially when looking at Martial Arts Level 3 on the wiki: "This allows the figure to attack first in Close Combat, making a Normal Roll to hit." It only specifically affects the close combat roll, and so the outside shooting AROs will still be simultaneous and incur the -6 to hit.


-F
________________________________________________
https://thesteeldawn.blogspot.com 
   
 
Forum Index » Corvus Belli (Infinity)
Go to: