| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/26 20:05:09
Subject: Different weapon types and Jink
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
If a unit is considered to be firing different weapon types sequentially as per the changes in 7th, does the target get an opportunity to declare Jink before each different weapon or is the entire units shooting still considered to be one shooting attack for the purposes of Jink?
This came up in a game the other day where my opponent didn't Jink before weapon type #1, but then declared Jink before I rolled to hit for weapon type #2. I'm not sure that this is entirely legal though.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/26 20:07:18
Subject: Different weapon types and Jink
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
You jink when your opponent declares you as a shooting target, not when you pick a weapon.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/26 20:08:40
Subject: Different weapon types and Jink
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
IMHO, the Jink special rule is pretty clear on the matter.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/26 21:02:10
Subject: Different weapon types and Jink
|
 |
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren
|
Ghaz wrote:IMHO, the Jink special rule is pretty clear on the matter.
This thread is for rules clarifications and for those who don't think something is specifically clear. If you think it's clear, great! but there's no point in you posting on each thread "I think it's clear." That helps nobody.
As to the Jink question, the rule says when the unit is targeted and before to-hit dice are rolled. So once the unit fires it's first round of shooting from one weapon, to-hit dice have been rolled and they may no-longer declare a jink for any other weapons from the same unit.
|
DR:80+S++G++MB--IPw40k12#+D++++A++/fWD013R++T(T)DM+
"War is the greatest act of worship, and I perform it gladly for my Lord.... Praise Be"
-Invictus Potens, Black Templar Dreadnought |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/26 21:39:32
Subject: Different weapon types and Jink
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And sometimes people just need to read the rules. If he had done so, he would have seen the following:
When a model with the Jink special rule is selected as a target for a shooting attack, you may declare that it will Jink.
A squad only targets a unit once, not once for each type of weapon. So again, what's not clear? Maybe if he would have stated why it was unclear a more direct answer could have been provided.
In any case, your criticisms of someone else's posting style most definitely isn't helpful at all. If you have a problem with someone's post, use the 'Notify Moderator' button.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/26 21:42:50
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/26 23:20:24
Subject: Re:Different weapon types and Jink
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
Hmm that escalated quickly. I did read the rule and my own view was that you need to declare jink before any of the to hit rolls from a unit are made. One thing I've learned from YMDC though is that rule interpretations can vary widely even when they seem pretty clear.
So I just thought I'd seek other opinions to clarify that all ranged attacks from a unit are classed as a single shooting attack for the purposes of jink even though we now have to resolve the shots from different weapon types in a sequential manner.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/26 23:55:45
Subject: Different weapon types and Jink
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
A unit only declares a target once (Split Fire may alter this, but that's a discussion for another thread). It's when you're declared as a target you decide to Jink, not when you roll To Hit.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/27 03:12:24
Subject: Different weapon types and Jink
|
 |
Horrific Howling Banshee
|
OP: I see your point, especially with split fire. That would seem to indicate I have to declare a jink with everything I had in case my opponent chooses to split fire with a different weapon after targeting some random other unit with his split fire unit. I think it would hinge on if you re-declare targets with each new weapon. Where does that rule loop back to, choosing target or rolling to hit?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/27 06:24:31
Subject: Different weapon types and Jink
|
 |
Nurgle Veteran Marine with the Flu
|
Ghaz wrote:A unit only declares a target once (Split Fire may alter this, but that's a discussion for another thread). It's when you're declared as a target you decide to Jink, not when you roll To Hit.
Agreed. You have to declare Jink before any rolls to hit are made.
As for split fire, don't you have to declare any split fire target at the same time as your main target i.e. before rolls to hit?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/27 06:32:43
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/08/27 21:09:34
Subject: Different weapon types and Jink
|
 |
Abhorrent Grotesque Aberration
|
Yes, when doing split fire you declare your primary target then the secondary one.
Then the target(s) get to decide if they are jinking or not.
Then to-hit rolls are done, etc.
In other words, you have to decide if you are going to split fire BEFORE making that first attack; and certainly before the target jinks.
|
------------------
"Why me?" Gideon begged, falling to his knees.
"Why not?" - Asdrubael Vect |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|