Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/17 16:48:38
Subject: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Administratum Water Cooler Loiterer [Brisbane.Au]
|
How do they work? I was under the impression that if you purchase it as Wargear for a character model (Be it Vet for a tactical squad or HQ, whatever...) and that Terminators could safely deep strike within 6" of THAT model. But some people speak of it as if it's a separate model in it self. I know there is a model for it on the new Terminator sprues, but do you use it on the table or is it just scenery? So if you do use it, how? It also says in the Wargear entry: 'the Homer must already be on the table at the start of the turn to be used'. Which I figured referred to squads with teleport homers in reserve that are not on the table yet. <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--><!--[endif]--> Usiel ? Concerned for the teleportation inclined? <!--[if !supportEmptyParas]--> <!--[endif]-->
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/17 18:01:14
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Just scenery. A teleport homer is a piece of wargear given to a model. Since the rules don't specify that it should be modeled seperately, it should be modeled as part of the model who has it.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/17 18:07:51
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Foul Dwimmerlaik
|
In the last edition, you would place a homer on the table, after the model holding it did absolutely nothing for a whole turn, except drop the homer. Then anything that teleported could home in on it. Now, you just teleport within 6" of the model holding this beacon. He can actually do stuff during the turn too. The little teleport homer bit is actually quite obsolete in this edition. Of no real game use other than objectives, etc. It also says in the Wargear entry: 'the Homer must already be on the table at the start of the turn to be used'. Which I figured referred to squads with teleport homers in reserve that are not on the table yet.
This is true. Is should have stated (since the model really doesnt drop the homer any longer) "The model holding the homer must already be on the table..."
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/17 20:00:11
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine
|
Here is a corollary question...
Can you use a teleport homer if the model carrying the teleport homer is inside a transport and if so how? I haven't seen a straight answer on this yet.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/17 20:08:58
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Foul Dwimmerlaik
|
Dont see why not. The only requisite of using the homer is if it is on the table, and that the terminators deploy within 6" of that beacon. The model holding the homer is on the table, being in a transport is not relevent.
I would think it quite satisfactory if the terminators deployed within 6" of the edge of the vehicle. Though, I can see room for abuse. But this is 40k, so abuse is also not relevent.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/17 20:44:17
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine
|
well i definitely prefer that interpretation, but i can see an argument where the actual "model" isnt on the "table" I guess I am just reading things too literally.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/17 21:41:28
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Los Angeles
|
Well, the fact is, the BGB does not tell us to remove models embarked on transports from the table. It doesn't tell us to do anything. It just says that such models are embarked.
Quite simply, the rules do not cover this situation.
However, I figure many opponents would allow you to to measure from the model's base if you explain where the model is inside the vehicle when you first embark the model. Even more generous opponents might allow you to measure from the edge of the vehicle, but, such a conclusion isn't even remotely supported by the rules.
|
"The last known instance of common sense happened at a GT. A player tried to use the 'common sense' argument vs. Mauleed to justify his turbo-boosted bikes getting a saving throw vs. Psycannons. The player's resulting psychic death scream erased common sense from the minds of 40k players everywhere. " - Ozymandias |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/17 21:59:41
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine
|
It is potentially contentious simply because it is not covered. I think most people wouldn't mind simply because teleport homers in my experience are not that effective since you have to teleport before you move so essentially the homer (or vehicle contaiining the homer) have to be within 6" of where you want to DS at the beginning of the turn. If the reserves come on turn 2 that is pretty unlikely. Now if you really want to do it right give your bike sargeant a teleport homer and turbo boost 1st turn and hope for good reserves roles... may be it is a little too risky.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/17 22:00:32
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Foul Dwimmerlaik
|
well if the transport is on the table, and the models are embarked, how could that be interpreted that the model holding the beacon isnt, in fact, on the table?
Is it because the model is in fact standing on the floor of the vehicle, and not touching the hallowed soil that is the table?
I really hope I dont encounter such people at RTT's. I might have to "cry".....
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/17 22:40:48
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
Administratum Water Cooler Loiterer [Brisbane.Au]
|
I thought as much, thank you for clarifying
Usiel ? Now Wisa, stronga, fasta!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/18 02:54:26
Subject: RE:Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Posted By Hellfury on 04/17/2006 11:07 PM In the last edition, you would place a homer on the table, after the model holding it did absolutely nothing for a whole turn, except drop the homer. Then anything that teleported could home in on it.
Now, you just teleport within 6" of the model holding this beacon. He can actually do stuff during the turn too.
I must correct this bit of revisionist history: Teleport homers have never, ever, been a separate model. Ever. They have always been wargear. Hellfury, you are thinking of Webway portals for DE. As far as I can tell, the only reason that people think it is a separate model is because there is a model on the Macragge Sprue that people think is the teleport homer. Note that unless you accept the Wargear book as gospel, Chaos homers don't even work at all. Still. Heh.
|
Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."
For Hearth and Home! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/18 08:07:13
Subject: RE:Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Posted By Hellfury on 04/18/2006 3:00 AM Is it because the model is in fact standing on the floor of the vehicle, and not touching the hallowed soil that is the table? More likely it is because the model is not actually on the table at all. It is standing off the playing field. An embarked model is symbolically contained in the vehicle it isn't actually there. Is it in the front left, rear right? Could a squad, even minus their bases, even physically fit in a vehicle so you could determine where the homer is located? Not sure if I really care one way or the other, but since it is not clearly defined I would prefer to err on the side of caution and not attempt to use a teleport homer if the model with it was embarked or on the table in spirit only.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/18 08:43:27
Subject: RE:Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Master of the Hunt
|
Posted By DAnNec on 04/18/2006 1:07 PM More likely it is because the model is not actually on the table at all. It is standing off the playing field. An embarked model is symbolically contained in the vehicle it isn't actually there. Is it in the front left, rear right? Could a squad, even minus their bases, even physically fit in a vehicle so you could determine where the homer is located?
Not sure if I really care one way or the other, but since it is not clearly defined I would prefer to err on the side of caution and not attempt to use a teleport homer if the model with it was embarked or on the table in spirit only.
Removing embarked models from the table is a convention/house rule which is not supported by the rules. Yes, virtually everyone plays it that way, but it IS a convention. Nothing more, nothing less. You are not told to remove embarked models from the table, hence embarked models are on the table.
|
"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion. It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning. It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/18 09:02:32
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Los Angeles
|
Danec: 1 post and you're already a DCM? Wow.
You sir, are a man.
|
"The last known instance of common sense happened at a GT. A player tried to use the 'common sense' argument vs. Mauleed to justify his turbo-boosted bikes getting a saving throw vs. Psycannons. The player's resulting psychic death scream erased common sense from the minds of 40k players everywhere. " - Ozymandias |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/18 17:56:26
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Foul Dwimmerlaik
|
I believe dannec has been around before this incarnation of dakka. I recall that name or a very similar one.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/20 03:49:00
Subject: RE:Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Hellfury is correct about my longevity. Have been around for a couple of years on the other versions. Number of posts did not come over correctly but I was not concerned enough about it to get it corrected.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/20 06:27:08
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Los Angeles
|
Has your name always been DAnNec?
|
"The last known instance of common sense happened at a GT. A player tried to use the 'common sense' argument vs. Mauleed to justify his turbo-boosted bikes getting a saving throw vs. Psycannons. The player's resulting psychic death scream erased common sense from the minds of 40k players everywhere. " - Ozymandias |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2006/04/21 07:18:19
Subject: RE: Teleport Homers???
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
|
|
 |
 |
|