Switch Theme:

what comes first?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee





Hollywood

hello I have a quick question about D weapons. I was wondering if I can get some help with.

A.

Shooting section Pg. 50 (digital) under "the shooting sequence"

Statement 4= roll to hit, Statement 5= roll to wound, Statement 6= allocate wound and take a saving throw

B.

Vehicles and Cover – Obscured Targets Pg. 147(digital) 4rth bullet point

If the target is obscured and suffers a glancing hit, a penetrating hit, or is otherwise
hit by an enemy shooting attack that inflicts damage upon it [...], it must take a cover save against it, exactly like a
non-vehicle model would do against a Wound
. If the save is passed, the hit is discarded, no
Hull Points are lost and no roll is made on the Vehicle Damage table.


C.

Destroyer weapon special rule under special rules Pg. 327 & 328 (digital)

result 2-5
Solid Hit: The model suffers a penetrating hit that
causes it to lose D3 Hull Points instead of 1.

Question:
Now because under point B it says to follow point A " exactly like a
non-vehicle model would do against a Wound" in point A "Statement 6= allocate wound and take a saving throw" in this the saving throw comes after the wound. In point C if you roll 2-5 the model is auto penetrated and now a roll is thrown for D3 hullpoints. So my question is when I roll for a D weapon hit and score a 2-5 does my opponent roll his save right there and then or do I then roll my D3 and for example I roll the max of 3 hullpoints, does my opponent roll his cover for each hullpoint?



W-D-L
31-2-1
26-0-0
4-1-6 
   
Made in nl
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





The Netherlands

For vehicles, you don't roll cover saves against lost hull points, you roll cover saves against penetrating or glancing hits (as your point B states). So, you roll for cover once, and if he fails that cover save, the vehicle loses D3 hull points. If he passes the cover save, nothing further happens.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/08/29 19:12:55


   
Made in us
Horrific Howling Banshee





Hollywood

OMG!!!! well I am definitely going to rage quit using my danm expensive super heavy

thanks for the quick reply

W-D-L
31-2-1
26-0-0
4-1-6 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: