Switch Theme:

Sneaky Gitz formation....an interesting rule loophole.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

So i finally got the ghaz supp and read the details of the formations. I knew about the 4 units of kommandos + snikrot one where the entire lot comes in on any board edge and have Shrouded for that turn, but i noticed something...interesting...

In the ork codex, Snikrot's Ambush, the ability that lets you come in from any board edge without rolling, says you cannot attach ICs to the units and utilize Ambush. Its already known you can outflank with ICs since a lot of people do that.

But theres something interesting here. Its not Ambush in the formation. The entire paragraph excludes anything indicating the formation uses Ambush rather than this new special rule. That means you can take this formation, add in a megaboss and/or painboy to a unit, and have them plop in the backfield of your opponent again!

Used to do this trick with Snikrot in the old dex all the time. i was pissed they removed it. now its a viable strat not just a joke that sometimes works lol

Unless im missing something, nothing denies ICs from joining the unit with the formation, since theyre not using Ambush specifically. Anyone able to argue otherwise before i deploy half my army behind yours? lol

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





You are indeed missing something. the 'sneaky gitz' is a special rule applied only to the units contained in that formation. So an attached outside IC would not have it, and since it doesn't state that the ability is confered to other models, that IC would not be able to move on to the board the way this formations units do. Whereas Outflank states that a unit must only have at least 1 model with the rule for any model in the unit to use it.

There was a long thread debating whether an IC could join a space wolf or blood angel formation with turn 1 deepstrike and come on with that formation. This is a similar situation.
   
Made in us
Big Mek in Kustom Dragster with Soopa-Gun





Nebraska, USA

Damn, valid point.

An ork with an idea tends to end with a bang.

14000pts Big 'n Bad Orkz
6000pts Admech/Knights
7500pts Necron Goldboys 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K General Discussion
Go to: