Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/09 10:03:04
Subject: declaring jink
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
I've been having trouble figuring out how to declare jinks for scattering blasts and the like. When an opponent targets one of my vehicles, I've been declaring the jink before the scatter is rolled. Sometimes the scatter puts it on a different vehicle or model that can jink though. Would the other models that aren't being targeted have to declare the jink beforehand too even though they aren't under the blast or do they not even get a chance to do it?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/09 10:49:35
Subject: declaring jink
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
You are doing it correctly and the other vehicles can't declare jink.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/09 11:32:38
Subject: declaring jink
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Indeed, they unfortunately don't get the chance to declare a Jink and have to take the blast hit without it.
If you declared a Jink on the first tank, and the blast scatters off completely, the vehicle is still affected by Jink.
(So suggestion in play: Jinking a vehicle for a small blast might be tactically un-advantageous, but comes down to personal choice and game experience)
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/09 21:34:51
Subject: declaring jink
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
The non-targets can't ever declare jink? So if I suspect the blast might scatter and hit another of my vehicles I can't declare jinking on both of them to be safe, just the one that is specifically targeted?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/09 21:37:10
Subject: declaring jink
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
Yes, only the declared target can jink.
|
Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/09 21:47:29
Subject: Re:declaring jink
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
+1 "Me too"
It's an annoying rule, but RAW there's no arguing it unless you have special jinkage in your codex.
1) Declare target
2) Counter declare jink
3) Roll to hit.
4) Got hit? Did you ALREADY declare a jink? Take your save, if not, oh well.
Whether or not everyone else in scatter range can declare a jink at step 2 is another matter that boils down to is being in range of a scattering attack being targetted? and that's a RAI matter not a RAW one.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/09 22:00:41
Subject: declaring jink
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Nope, only targeted unit can declare jinks. That being said, pretty sure a vehicle squadron can declare jink, as they count as a unit. But yeah, you're playing it correct
|
~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/10 09:46:32
Subject: declaring jink
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Alright, thanks guys. I always try to play a rule to my disadvantage when I'm uncertain about something like that, but I hoped there would be some way to pull it off differently.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/10 14:53:42
Subject: declaring jink
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Indiana
|
Some tournaments have being ruling that if you are hit with the initial placement you may jink(but not if it scatters) I would ask your local TO
|
|
|
 |
 |
|