Switch Theme:

Vortex of doom and Impassable Terrain  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Member of the Malleus






This past weekend I played in an apocalypse game, and I targeted my opponents transcendent Ctan with a vortex of doom, I hit and it didn't scatter. It didn't kill the Ctan on the first turn, but because the rules say the marker becomes impassable terrain we weren't sure what that meant for the Ctan. The TO ruled that the Ctan was locked in place and couldn't move until the vortex moved and nothing could assault the Ctan because the terrain it was in was impassable. Is this how it should go or should the Ctan have been shunted off the marker when it became impassable?

The Emperor Protects
Strike Force Voulge led by Lord Inquisitor Severus Vaul: 7000 points painted
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

if nothing in the Vortex Rule states the Model must be moved in these situations, then permission to move the Model from it's current location simply does not exist and it must remain in it's original spot. This does not cause any issue however, as the Restrictions for Impassable Terrain have to do with movement or movement related events. As the Movement Rules give us permission to choose not to Move a Model, it is entirely possible for the 'trapped' Model to obey the Impassable Terrain Restrictions simply by standing still.

Therefore, it is forced to stand still till the vortex moves off it.
That thing really should come with some sort of fly-paper template....

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/11 16:29:39


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

As a Gargantuan Monstrous Creature, the C'Tan is not allowed to move through Impassable Terrain. And since you have to move through the terrain to get out of it, it means that the model effectively gets trapped in that Vortex if the template is touching its base during the movement phase.

A couple provisos:

- Remember that Vortex scatters every turn - make sure you get the timing right.
- C'Tans often take Transliminal Stride as an upgrade, which allows them ignore terrain when moving.

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2014/09/11 16:32:27


 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

It does appear that technically VoD will lock any models in place that don't ignore terrain when moving. And things like Skimmers and Jump units could actually deliberately land on the vortex if they wanted to.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Yes but I don't think it's locked in place, on it's next movement phase he would just move off of it.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Lungpickle wrote:
Yes but I don't think it's locked in place, on it's next movement phase he would just move off of it.


Only if he has permission to move through Impassable terrain, as to move off it he must move through it.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Lungpickle wrote:
Yes but I don't think it's locked in place, on it's next movement phase he would just move off of it.


How does one move through impassible terrain?

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

Only if you are a Skimmer, Jet bike, or have the Jump/Jet unit type. Otherwise, you're stuck.

It kinda makes sense. You are partially within what is essentially a miniature Black Hole.

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






 Grey Templar wrote:
Only if you are a Skimmer, Jet bike, or have the Jump/Jet unit type. Otherwise, you're stuck.

It kinda makes sense. You are partially within what is essentially a miniature Black Hole.


It was a rhetorical question


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: