Switch Theme:

Battle Standard Bearer  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Powerful Chaos Warrior






Dakkites,

Example scenario, my hellcannon is on a hill with scouts behind it, it becomes my turn and my hellcannon fails his restraint check, the result I want because he can turn to face and move in a charge fashion, however my BSB is in range. Do I have to use the reroll or could I elect to keep the fail?


Alex 'Salior' Wheatley
- Warriors of Chaos / Savage Ogres
- Most VP - Eatbats 2014
- 2nd - Bunker Brawl 2014
- 3rd - Blood on the Sands 2013


'A proper Imperial Guard regiment should have enough men to build a starport from corpses, if need be.'

 
   
Made in us
Iron Fang




US

I believe (don't have my BRB in front of me) that the BSB allows you to re-roll. Keyword here is "allows". It does not say mandates, makes, or any other word that would imply that you MUST re-roll. Therefore, I believe that you can elect to keep the fail.
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

It doesn't say "allows" either.

It says:
"...friendly models within x" of the Battle Standard Bearer re-roll failed Leadership tests of any kind..."

Doesn't sound like there's a choice involved at all. They re-roll.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





No, it's a failed reaction. It is supposed to be negative. You can't chose to make negative things happen. Just like you can't force yourself to have the cannon blow up even though there are times that could be beneficial.

   
Made in ca
Fully-charged Electropriest






Hard to say. The BSB rules say you re-roll failed leadership rolls of any kind but under the rules for re-rolls the specific wording sounds like you can choose to not re-roll if you like. Ultimately I would say that you can choose to not re-roll if you wish.
   
Made in gr
Regular Dakkanaut




Nothing controversial here.
Is your BSB within 12"?
Yes. --> You HAVE to re-roll ONCE and accept the 2nd result.
No. --> You accept the initial result.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





First off, it's specific vs. general. The specific wins. BSB is specific and it doesn't give a choice. Second, the general rule isn't ironclad that it's optional. It can be read multiple ways.

"pick up the dice you wish to re-roll, and roll it again."

The "wish" part doesn't necessarily mean the roll itself but the individual die(s) of that roll.

Most rules make it clear.

TK Imhotep staff - all dice mandatory
DoC Khairos staff - one die of your choosing
Hatred - reroll all misses in first round only
etc

BSB is a specific rule and it says you reroll.

   
 
Forum Index » The Old World & Legacy Warhammer Fantasy Discussion
Go to: