Switch Theme:

Vehicles and Hammer of Wrath  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

Let's say I have two Carnifexes with have D3 Hammer of Wrath (Living Battering Ram) and both roll 3 on a D3.

If those Hammer of Wrath attacks succeed in removing all the Hull Points of a Vehicle, would you roll for Armour Penetration of the remaining attacks that the Fexes normally get as there is a chance the Vehicle may Explode, or simply leave the Vehicles as a wreck?

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I will find the Rule location when I am back in the library, but I have vague recall of a Rule which requires it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/13 16:18:56


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant




Hammer of wrath is carried out at initiative 10, you must complete the rest of the attacks at this initiative step. Once there is no longer anything to attack the round of combat ends, so before they make their normal attacks.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

Once you are no longer in combat you do not make any attacks, so if you kill something at ! 10, you do not get to make swings at I2 for normal attacks.

The Fex is not in base contact with an enemy model by that point so it will need to make a pile in move.

"At the start of each Initiative step, any model whose Initiative is equal to the value of the current Initiative step, that isn’t already in base contact with an enemy model, must make a Pile In move." (The Assault Phase chapter, Start of Initiative Step Pile In section).


and the fex would have to be engaged to fight.

"After models have Piled In, any model whose Initiative is equal to the value of the current Initiative step and who is engaged with an enemy model must fight." (The Assault Phase chapter, Determine Who Can Fight section).

So the Fex do not get their normal attacks if the vehicle was wrecked because of the HoW attacks.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I thought the Opening Post was in relation to Penetrating Hits greater then the Hull Point created during a single attack.
Reading failure, yay.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/13 16:51:56


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






Also note, any models that have made it into B2B and preformed Hammer of wrath attacks may no longer pile in during the current assault.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Eihnlazer wrote:
Also note, any models that have made it into B2B and preformed Hammer of wrath attacks may no longer pile in during the current assault.
If they are still in B2B I would agree, but if they killed the model in base I would say they get to pile in. Do you read it otherwise? How so?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




My understanding it that for vehicles you resolve each wound as it goes. If the final wound/hull point is stripped by a glance, there's no chance of exploding and that's it for that initiative step. You are also no longer in B2B with an enemy model so you are not in CC so you won and get a consolidate, but nothing more from lower init steps.

If you wrecked a transport, they get out 1" away so you are not in CC with them either.

Is there a RAW/RAI argument for anything else? I can see wanting to have Carni#3 or whatever from the same unit eat some grots but I don't see any rule that would allow it.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






RAWRAIrobblerobble wrote:
My understanding it that for vehicles you resolve each wound as it goes.
This is true for Vehicle Squadrons, but not for ordinary vehicles - page 75 talks about rolling a D6 for each penetrating hit, and the table on p76 mentions under the Explodes! result that you only hurt nearby models once "regardless of how many times the result is inflicted".

Remember that this would only include attacks made at the same Initiative step, or weapons of the same name if a shooting attack.

Also, you don't get to Consolidate after a combat with a non-walker, non-chariot vehicle (Vehicles in the Assault Phase - Assault Results - page 78)
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Indeed it does. Good to know on that consolidation since I feed scary things rhinos when needed.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: