Switch Theme:

Order of Operations Question: Vehicle glanced and penned, does it get wrecked or explode?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Here's a question. The BRB says:
"Wrecked Vehicles
A vehicle that is reduced to 0 Hull Points is Wrecked. A Wrecked vehicle is destroyed."

If we have a vehicle with one hull point left and it gets hit three times, one resolved as a glance and then two as pen+explodes. How do you handle the order of operations, specifically what happens:
1) The glance might happen first, which wrecks it, preventing an explodes from occurring.
2) You always roll for the explodes no matter how many other things happen which might wreck it at the same time.

If #2, how many explodes would you roll for (and who picks if more than 1)?



And for a bonus question:
" All modifiers on the Vehicle Damage table are cumulative. "
If a LR hits twice with a lascannons (AP2) and once with a MM (AP1), does anyone think the rolls on the table are meant to be +1, +1, +2 = +4? I would assume not, but I can't think of other modifers would be cumulative.

   
Made in au
Frenzied Berserker Terminator






Roll for the penetration anyway (see "Penetrating Hits" section). As for how many, that's never really been answered by the rules as far as I can recall, but maybe someone else can help you with this.

Regarding the "all modifiers" thing, that can only apply if you have multiple modifiers on a specific penetrating hit. If you're hitting with a Lascannon and a Multimelta, you can't add their modifiers together because they will each cause their own penetrating hit if successful.

It's referring to any other ability that might add or subtract the roll by an amount being cumulative with the AP bonus.
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






The cumulative is talking about AP stacking with open topped.

You never stack AP bonus from separate shots since each penetrating hit is separate of one another.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




You couldn't add a multi melts and lascannon anyway, as they would be fired at different points in 7th.

If you have here lascannon results of pen,pen, glance, these are all simultaneous, and nothing indicates you bring in an order of operations apart from immobilised results.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: