Switch Theme:

Question from a Pathfinder noob  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Huge Hierodule






North Bay, CA

So I'm taking the kids through the basic adventure from the starter set. They found a scroll with fireball (4). Now the wizard can use the scroll to add the spell to his spellbook, but does that use all 4 instances of the fireball or just one? Conversely, if you find a scroll (4) and use 3, can it still be used to add the spell to your spellbook?

Cheers.

   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





EDIT: Previous answer in this post was wrong.

The rules aren't 100% clear. However I'd assume only one instance was consume or needed. This is the kind of nitty-gritty call it's probably better to just make than scour books for the correct answer.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/09/17 15:46:23


 
   
Made in us
[ARTICLE MOD]
Huge Hierodule






North Bay, CA

I agree. I figured that adding it to the spellbook basically consumed one instance of the spell.

   
Made in us
The Marine Standing Behind Marneus Calgar





Upstate, New York

For scrolls with multiple spells on them (including copies of the same one) we’ve always played it as each is separate for things like this. Basically, you have four scrolls of fireball stapled together. You can scribe one, and still have the other 3 for use.

The only real perk of having them all on one scroll is the fact that you only need to pull it out once.

YMMV, check with your local GM, etc...

   
 
Forum Index » Board Games, Roleplaying Games & Card Games
Go to: