Switch Theme:

Catacomb Command Barge and "Immovable Object" trait  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





Hi,

Just curious as to how the Immovable Object warlord trait would work on a CCB. Would the IWND apply to both the rider as well as the chariot, seeing as how they're one single unit? Ergo, if you've lost a hullpoint turn 1, you can roll for IWND, then turn 2 say you lose 1 wound, and you can choose to roll IWND for that wound?

Thx.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




 Mavlun wrote:
Hi,

Just curious as to how the Immovable Object warlord trait would work on a CCB. Would the IWND apply to both the rider as well as the chariot, seeing as how they're one single unit? Ergo, if you've lost a hullpoint turn 1, you can roll for IWND, then turn 2 say you lose 1 wound, and you can choose to roll IWND for that wound?

Thx.


I like that you haven't assumed that you can get 2 IWND rolls in the same turn - 1 for the warlord and 1 for the chariot.

Since most of us don't have chariots, here are some BRB rules to expedite discussions:
The different types of vehicle are: Chariot


So it IS a vehicle. Like a walker it can also assault and lock people in CC.


Immovable Object Warloard trait:
Your Warlord has the Fearless and It Will Not Die special rules.


So if we are looking for strict RAW interpretations, the warlord has the trait, not the model (which normally wouldn't matter).


A Chariot is an unusual unit with a dual profile – a non-vehicle profile for the rider of the Chariot (see below), and a vehicle profile for the Chariot itself. However, a Chariot is always treated as a single model.


So we have a dual profile, one with the IWND rule (the warlord) and one profile without it (the chariot). We also have a rule that says treat the "Chariot" as a single model, not "the warlord and the chariot', much less the simpler "the unit" as a single model. Semantics can be argued here, but I think that is all RAI not RAW.

IWND:
At the end of each of your turns, roll a D6 for each of your models with this special rule that has less than its starting number of Wounds or Hull Points, but has not been removed as a casualty or destroyed. On a roll of 5+, that model regains a Wound, or Hull Point, lost earlier in the game.


So the question here really is two questions:
1) If my warlord has the IWND rule, does any vehicle he is in gain that rule?
2) More specifically, does a chariot gain that rule?

I think it's clear nothing gives him the ability to convey IWND to a vehicle he embarks on, so #1 is "no" but Chariots are a different case.

If we look at Chariot special rules we see:

A Chariot has the Hammer of Wrath special rule, but gains D6 attacks rather than one,


The relevant question then becomes:
If a model has a dual profile, do special rules from one profile always convey to the other?

If IWND is conveyed to the chariot, I think that that HoW would have to be conveyed to the rider as well. I don't think that makes any sense, so I'd say no on the IWND benefiting the chariot since I don't think you can coherently argue that special rules are conveyed from A to B but not B to A without splitting some pretty fine hairs.






   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Interesting. My interpretation from a quick read of the rules is that the 'model' (chariot and rider together) would gain the IWND special rule (but not twice, since you can't benefit from the same special rule twice) and if, at the end of your turn, it had lost a wound or hull point could roll to restore one of them as IWND uses the wording "wound OR hull point" (paraphrasing, with added emphasis).
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





A Chariot is a single model. So any rule gained that affects the model affect the whole model.

So yes you can use your IWND to gain a wound or hull point back.
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

I'm not on the fence here. The rider only.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in ro
Regular Dakkanaut





Lungpickle wrote:
I'm not on the fence here. The rider only.


Wondering why. I'm siding with CrownAxe (though I"m obviously being subjective).

The chariot and rider are one single model. The rule isn't from some piece of wargear that is specifically purchased for the Overlord, or the barge (like say the discussion about phase shifter's invulnerable extending to the barge, which I agree is ridiculous). It's a warlord trait. Your warlord is the rider + the vehicle, as they are "always treated as a single model".
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

I believe you need to back up your stance with rules. In this case the per the chariot rules we treat them as one model. SR's are model based. The chariot has IWND and the roll can heal a wound or a hull point.

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Lungpickle wrote:
I'm not on the fence here. The rider only.


If you look at the way chariots are handled in the Space Wolves codex, special rules are conveyed from the rider to the chariot unless specifically noted otherwise. In the case of the space wolf chariot the deep strike ability of the rider's terminator armor would have conveyed from the rider to include the whole chariot so they included a specific note that blocked that from happening.
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard





Virginia

This is one of those wonky things that needs clarification in the next codex. But I typically play that only the Rider gets whatever special rule he gets from the Warlord trait (which is usually FNP, but still)

40k:
8th Edtion: 9405 pts - Varantekh Dynasty  
   
Made in us
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin




Johnson City, NewYork

Based off of what rules?

ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.

You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General 
   
Made in us
Grisly Ghost Ark Driver





4th Obelisk On The Right

The Rider and the Chariot both have access to Reanimation Protocols because it is one model.

So If a chariot has hammer of wrath then it has hammer of wrath. If the rider has IWND then the chariot has IWND. But as the the whole model IS the chariot HoR doesn't apply to the rider singularly.

Really we should stop thinking of it as an Overlord on a Catacomb Command Barge. We should see it as a Catacomb Command Barge and that is it. With out the Overlord it is a chariot. With the Overlord it is a chariot that gains the ability to fight like a walker with the Overlords stats.

Basically the Overlord gives the Chariot access to his abilities and powers...i.e. SRs an weapons and wargear and etc.


This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/19 21:18:39


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: