Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 12:15:18
Subject: Can a Veil of Darkness arrive from deepstrike reserve?
|
 |
Numberless Necron Warrior
UK
|
Someone recently brought up an interesting debate which I thought I'd run by you guys.
Here's the scenario. A group of immortals with an attached Veiltek, held in reserves. Can this unit deepstrike onto the battlefield the turn it arrives?
The wording of the Veil is as follows:
"A Cryptek with a vod can use it in its Movement phase instead of moving normally. The cryptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediately Deep Strike back onto the battlefield. The vod cannot be used if the Cryptek or his unit are locked in combat".
Here we can see the vod doesn't confer the Deepstrike USR, and because it replaces the move action of the cryptek's squad it would at first glance appear as though 'No the immortals cannot arrive via deepstrike'.
However here comes the rules entanglement.
In the Rulebook for reserves (p135 & 136) it says the following:
"At the start of your second turn, you must roll a D6 for each unit in your army that is being held in reserve... When Reserves arrive, pick one of your arriving units and deploy it, moving onto the table as described below. Then pick another arriving unit, and deploy it, and so on until all arriving units are on the table. The player can then proceed to move his other units as normal. Note that you must first roll for all reserves, and then move any arriving reserves, before any other units can move."
---
The question here then is whether or not the arrival of the unit from deepstrike is part of the 'start of turn' phase, or part of the movement phase. The wording could be argued to go either way. If it is part of the start of turn phase, then it would reasonable to say that because the unit can then no longer move during the movement phase, the unit cannot swap out its move with a deepstrike action from the vod. If however it is part of the movement phase, then there's nothing to suggest that this action could not be the subject of a vod swap-out. The fact that the vod contains the words 'remove from the tabletop' is not given as a prerequisite or a cost, so it would count as a move action that could in principle be replaced.
So - which one is it?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 13:46:44
Subject: Can a Veil of Darkness arrive from deepstrike reserve?
|
 |
Tough Tyrant Guard
|
I would say being on the table is a prerequisite;
'The cryptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediately Deep Strike back onto the battlefield'
Removing them from the tabletop to DS back onto the tabletop is a impossibility if they are not on the tabletop to begin with.
|
It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.
Tactical objectives are fantastic |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 13:48:33
Subject: Can a Veil of Darkness arrive from deepstrike reserve?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
I will note that in previous editions it was allowed (via FAQ). However, that was then. This is now.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 15:13:43
Subject: Can a Veil of Darkness arrive from deepstrike reserve?
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Happyjew wrote:I will note that in previous editions it was allowed (via FAQ). However, that was then. This is now.
Without the FAQ - you need to be on the table so until it's readded, you can't come in from reserves via the veil or ghostwalk mantle teleporting.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 18:06:46
Subject: Re:Can a Veil of Darkness arrive from deepstrike reserve?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
FAQs really only help clarify rules at times. They are not rules themselves and the removal of them does not necessarily make the rule any less valid.
The previous FAQs stance was that a veil of darkness could be used instead of movement. Therefore when coming on from reserve, a player can elect to use a veil of darkness instead of moving onto the board.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 18:34:56
Subject: Can a Veil of Darkness arrive from deepstrike reserve?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
That would be true if Game Workshop wasn't the company producing the Frequently Asked Questions. Every long-term poster here likely has their own favorite example where Game Workshop used a Frequently Asked Question to change a Written Rules instead of creating Errata like they should of. Mine is when they stripped the Building Rules from Battlements in 6th: The Question didn't even have anything to do with the Battlements being a Building! It also allowed Tanks to use Access Points to Embark into a Battlement as a side effect, leading me to scream '40K tanks can climb ladders' until Stronghold turned Battlements into Ruins....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/22 18:36:02
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 19:32:23
Subject: Can a Veil of Darkness arrive from deepstrike reserve?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
xandermacleod wrote:Someone recently brought up an interesting debate which I thought I'd run by you guys.
Here's the scenario. A group of immortals with an attached Veiltek, held in reserves. Can this unit deepstrike onto the battlefield the turn it arrives?
The wording of the Veil is as follows:
"A Cryptek with a vod can use it in its Movement phase instead of moving normally.
RAW? No*.
The Cryptek can use it instead of moving normally. If he has moved at all, or doesn't have a normal movement allowed, he can't use it.
Walking on from reserves? He used his movement.
If he deepstrikes in from reserves through some other means, he has also already moved and therefore can not "move" again, even with that power.
If accurately quoted and explicitly worded as "immediately deep strike", so the other arguments against it (did it start in reserves? does it have the DS rule?) aren't applicable - unlike with Gate of Infinity/Skyleap/etc.
*One possible exception here is for transported units though: If he rides in on a transport that moves 6" or less he has a disembark move allowed normally - so maybe there?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 22:07:39
Subject: Re:Can a Veil of Darkness arrive from deepstrike reserve?
|
 |
Discriminating Deathmark Assassin
|
The question comes down to, is the movement onto the board in the movement phase? This is hard to judge based off of how the reserves rules are written. On one hand we are told that the unit cannot use any start of the turn abilities, which would imply they are moving in the movement phase. On the other we are told to complete all rules for start of your turn before the movement phase which would imply they arrive at the start of your turn. Reserves also states that we also move all other units..... Personally I read it as the roll happens at the start of the turn but the movement happens in the movement phase.
|
ADD causes my posts to ramble from time to time. Please bear with me.
You're not a Time Lord stick with linear time.
Specific Vs General |
|
 |
 |
|