Switch Theme:

Multiple units in assault  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





He all,

We had a interesting situation happen last night, and not sure if we handled it correctly. Let me see if i can explain.

We had a unit if around 20 Gaunts that was charged by a Deff Dread. The line of Gaunts was spread very wide, so in the first round of combat, only a few were in combat, and the rest slowly pulled in closer.

First round the Deff dread killed enough off that there was space now infront of him. I charged my Tervigon in on my turn. So now we had something like

________GGGG
G G G G GGGDDGGG
_________TERV

On the next turn another Deff Dread charaged in as well and go into contact with the Gaunts, he quickly killed off the 4 in base contact with him. leaving something like

__________DD
G G G G GGGDDGGG
__________TERV

On my turn during the assault phase he wanted to push the second Deff Dread into base contact with the first one, and to put the second ones attack on the Tervigon. I told him I did not think he could do that since as of yet, the second one was not part of the combat with th Terv, and he would have to push into the remaining Gaunts.

He cited the section about charging and getting into base contact, but i felt that since he was already IN combat with the Gaunts he could not.

Does any of this make sense?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/22 17:18:36


 
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

It is all one big multi combat, so both the DD's were in combat with the Tervigon and the Gaunt units.


Your opponent was correct, he could pile in to any enemy unit that is involved in that combat.

Look at "The Assault Phase" chapter, "Multiple Combats" section.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/22 17:22:59


"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





 DeathReaper wrote:
It is all one big multi combat, so both the DD's were in combat with the Tervigon and the Gaunt units.


Your opponent was correct, he could pile in to any enemy unit that is involved in that combat.

Look at "The Assault Phase" chapter, "Multiple Combats" section.


Ok so this line is from that section:

"A model that is in base contact with, or engaged with, just one enemy unit when it comes to strike must attack that unit. "

Reading that seems to support my argument, at his initive step he was not in base contact with the Terv, he was in contact with Gaunts

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/22 17:35:22


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




heracyangel wrote:
He all,

We had a interesting situation happen last night, and not sure if we handled it correctly. Let me see if i can explain.

We had a unit if around 20 Gaunts that was charged by a Deff Dread. The line of Gaunts was spread very wide, so in the first round of combat, only a few were in combat, and the rest slowly pulled in closer.

First round the Deff dread killed enough off that there was space now infront of him. I charged my Tervigon in on my turn. So now we had something like

________GGGG
G G G G GGGDDGGG
_________TERV

On the next turn another Deff Dread charaged in as well and go into contact with the Gaunts, he quickly killed off the 4 in base contact with him. leaving something like

__________DD
G G G G GGGDDGGG
__________TERV

On my turn during the assault phase he wanted to push the second Deff Dread into base contact with the first one, and to put the second ones attack on the Tervigon. I told him I did not think he could do that since as of yet, the second one was not part of the combat with th Terv, and he would have to push into the remaining Gaunts.

He cited the section about charging and getting into base contact, but i felt that since he was already IN combat with the Gaunts he could not.

Does any of this make sense?



You're both partially right. Both Deff Dreds are part of the same big combat. However, you cannot attack 'through' another model if it is not a part of the same unit. Since the second Deff Dred was not in base to base with the Tervigon, but was in B2B with the gaunts... that is where it's attacks must fall. Because each unit figures out what units it has to attack individually.

To sum up... they are all part of one big combat, but each unit can only strike blows against enemies that they are engaged with.
   
Made in us
Captain of the Forlorn Hope





Chicago, IL

heracyangel wrote:
 DeathReaper wrote:
It is all one big multi combat, so both the DD's were in combat with the Tervigon and the Gaunt units.


Your opponent was correct, he could pile in to any enemy unit that is involved in that combat.

Look at "The Assault Phase" chapter, "Multiple Combats" section.


Ok so this line is from that section:

"A model that is in base contact with, or engaged with, just one enemy unit when it comes to strike must attack that unit. "

Reading that seems to support my argument, at his initive step he was not in base contact with the Terv, he was in contact with Gaunts



Sorry, it was not clear that he was only in contact with the gaunts.

Yes. if he is only in contact with the gaunts that is the only unit he can attack.

If he is in contact with both he gets to choose.

If he kills all the gaunts in base contact then he can try to pile into the Tervigon.

"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.

I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!

We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
 
   
Made in ca
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk






If he is within the same combat and within 2" of a model in B2B (the first dread) is he not "engaged" with the tervigon and eligible to strike it?

2016 Score: 7W; 0D; 2L 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




No, you must be within 2" of a model from your unit, that is in b2b with the enemy unit, for you to be able to strike that enemy unit.
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




nosferatu1001 wrote:
No, you must be within 2" of a model from your unit, that is in b2b with the enemy unit, for you to be able to strike that enemy unit.


I actually thought the same thing... but rereading the BRB, there is no language about attacking models needing to be in the same unit to be 'engaged'.

BRB pg. 49
"A model is engaged in combat if:
- It is in base contact with one or more enemy models.
- It is within 2" horizontally and /or 6" vertically of a friendly model in base contact with one or more enemy models in the same combat."

No language about those models needing to be in the same unit. Then later when we talk about multiple combats under Directing Attacks:

BRB pg 55
"A model that is in base contact with, or engaged with, more than one enemy unit when it strikes blows can split its Attacks freely between those units."

So long as it is engaged with multiple units, it's attacks can go to either. And all that is required for engagement is a friednly model in B2B within 2" of the striking unit.

Ignore my previous comments... to the OP's friend was perfectly within the rules attacking whichever unit he wanted.
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Hmm, I hadnt spotted that if true - a stealth change to 7th?
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





nosferatu1001 wrote:
Hmm, I hadnt spotted that if true - a stealth change to 7th?

iirc in 6th as well.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: