Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 18:53:36
Subject: twin linked multiple barrages (wyvern question)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
After the initial scatter I know that the blast plate scatters off the original landing point. But if a unit is twin linked then can you reroll the directional dice for each subsequent blast if it scatters in a direction that doesn't hit anything?
Also, say you have to wyverns each has 2 stormshard mortars (2 blast's barrage....for 8 in total). I have 1 person saying all 8 go off original blast point. and someone else insisting that each mortar gets rerolled (so basically every 2). who would be wright?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 19:13:59
Subject: Re:twin linked multiple barrages (wyvern question)
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
For the second point, the entire unit fires a single Multiple Barrage, so all markers scatter from the first blast.
First point is more murky, the re-roll rule for Blasts states that you must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6 (which is not available for the second and subsequent shots). Personal HIWPI is yes.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 19:16:39
Subject: Re:twin linked multiple barrages (wyvern question)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Murky indeed. Twinlinked says reroll both scatter and (distance) dice, so I've always played it as I only get to re-roll the original "hit" with my thunderfires. I don't see a RAW reason to reroll just the scatter and RAI that would seem to be a bit much - it's "twin" linked, not octo linked.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 19:28:09
Subject: Re:twin linked multiple barrages (wyvern question)
|
 |
Ship's Officer
|
I have been playing it as the first blast marker is placed and twin-linking allows the scatter + 2D6 to be re-rolled. Then, for each subsequent blast, the 'flop' scatter can be re-rolled as well.
It makes more sense to re-roll only the initial hit, to be honest, but then one of the Wyvern isn't technically getting the benefit of their twin-linked weapon simply because they're in a squadron. I (as a Guard player) would obviously prefer the ability to re-roll all of the blasts, but I could see it being easily arguable.
For what it's worth, no-one has ever actually questioned or argued against me re-rolling all of the blasts. Then again, that might be because they're too busy picking up handfuls of dice to make their saves...
DoW
|
"War. War never changes." - Fallout
4000pts
3000pts
1000pts
2500pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 19:36:22
Subject: Re:twin linked multiple barrages (wyvern question)
|
 |
Cog in the Machine
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
|
If you look at the description of the stormshard mortar it says it is Heavy 2. Each Wyvren has 2 stormshard mortars for a total of 4 shots per Wyvren. So, firing a single Wyvren would look like this:
1) Target first shot, roll 2D6 + scatter. Re-roll if not satisfied with outcome.
2) For shot two using the barrage rule you would only roll the scatter and either flip it in the direction it says or in the case of a direct hit, place it anywhere touching the original template. Re-roll for TL if necessary.
3) That uses up the first Stormshard Mortar. Shot three comes from the second Stormshard Mortar so you will roll 2D6 + scatter for this shot, TL re-rolls as needed.
4) Shot four follows the same process as Shot two.
There you have it, each Wyvren in the battery would follow this method until you have gone through all of them. Then roll your wounds. Re-roll any failures due to shred. Watch your opponent lose his troops.
|
40k armies: Harlies, Tzeentch Daemons
AoS armies: DoK, Deepkin, Nighthaunt, Tzeentch Daemons, Skaven |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 19:48:12
Subject: Re:twin linked multiple barrages (wyvern question)
|
 |
Executing Exarch
|
IngenuityGap wrote:3) That uses up the first Stormshard Mortar. Shot three comes from the second Stormshard Mortar so you will roll 2D6 + scatter for this shot, TL re-rolls as needed.
First sentence of Barrage - Multiple Barrages (p160) " If a unit fires more than one shot with the Barrage special rule, they fire together, as follows:". Only the first shot rolls 2D6 (as per the first bullet point), each other shot skips the first bullet point and follows the second and third instead.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 19:51:30
Subject: Re:twin linked multiple barrages (wyvern question)
|
 |
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant
|
IngenuityGap wrote:
1) Target first shot, roll 2D6 + scatter. Re-roll if not satisfied with outcome.
2) For shot two using the barrage rule you would only roll the scatter and either flip it in the direction it says or in the case of a direct hit, place it anywhere touching the original template. Re-roll for TL if necessary.
3) That uses up the first Stormshard Mortar. Shot three comes from the second Stormshard Mortar so you will roll 2D6 + scatter for this shot, TL re-rolls as needed.
4) Shot four follows the same process as Shot two.
No, that's not what the rules say at all. Step 3 should be the same as step 2 as per the second bullet point of the barrage rules "Once the first marker is placed, roll a scatter dice for each additional barrage weapon shot fired by the unit. If an arrow is rolled, place the marker in the direction indicated so that it is next to and touching the edge of the first marker placed."
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/22 20:05:45
Subject: Re:twin linked multiple barrages (wyvern question)
|
 |
Death-Dealing Devastator
Bournemouth
|
Quanar wrote:For the second point, the entire unit fires a single Multiple Barrage, so all markers scatter from the first blast.
First point is more murky, the re-roll rule for Blasts states that you must re-roll both the scatter dice and the 2D6 (which is not available for the second and subsequent shots). Personal HIWPI is yes.
When i read the rules through, I read it as re-roll the initial blast but after that you get no more re-rolls.
Bhut when i went back through and read the WD article introducing the Awesome tank  they commented on the fact you could re-roll all the scatter dice thereafter, so that#s how I've played it since.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/25 03:37:04
Subject: twin linked multiple barrages (wyvern question)
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
And since your rolling to hit with subsequent rolls of those miss, ie roll an arrow you can reroll that roll as well.
This is how you walk the templates around using the hits.
|
In a dog eat dog be a cat. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/25 19:14:53
Subject: Re:twin linked multiple barrages (wyvern question)
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
The RAW states:
Twin-linked Blast Weapons
If the scatter dice does not roll a hit, you can choose to re-roll the dice with a Twin-linked Blast weapon. If you choose to do so, you must re-roll both the 2D6 and the scatter dice
[/quotes]
Note that you MUST re-roll the 2d6 as well. If you can't reroll them, because there are none to roll, then you don't get to reroll the secondary barrage pie plates. I twin-link my TFC, but only the first hit^H shot gets the reroll.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/25 19:15:14
|
|
 |
 |
|