Switch Theme:

Super Heavy Walkers and Smash  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Orem, UT

Came across this with my first game against the Knights.

When smash attacks occur and the player rolls a 6, do you get an invuln save for that? My oppoenet said that since it says suffers the result and therefore does not allow invulns. Usually rules will say no saves allowed, but smash does not.

What's the answer? I would say you still get a invuln since it does not state it denies saves.
   
Made in nl
Confessor Of Sins






Do you mean a Stomp attack?

If so, you can only take saves against glancing and/or penetrating hits. The 6 result on the Stomp table for vehicles causes neither.

Cratfworld Alaitoc (Gallery)
Order of the Red Mantle (Gallery)
Grand (little) Army of Chaos, now painting! (Blog
   
Made in us
The Conquerer






Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios

If you are not a vehicle, you get removed as a casualty. No saves because no wounds were caused.

If you are a vehicle, you also do not get any saves because it says you scatter D6" suffer an Explodes result. You only get saves against Glancing or Penetrating hits.

Remember you only get saves against wounds, glances, and penetrating hits. You do not get saves against anything else. Rolling a 6 on the Stomp table is "anything else"

Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines

Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.

MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Orem, UT

so by that account, using grav weapons as a example,. you wouldn't get saves against grav weapons?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





spaztacus wrote:
so by that account, using grav weapons as a example,. you wouldn't get saves against grav weapons?

Against vehicles that is correct.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I will need to verify but I am sort of remembering the Rulebook specifically mentioning Grav-Weapons, in relation to situations where Saves can be taken, but I need to see the exact wording before I commit....


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Verification of this is interesting, but a little off topic, as I found what that Rule
> If the target is obscured and suffers a glancing hit, a penetrating hit, or is otherwise hit by an enemy shooting attack that inflicts damage upon it (such as being hit by a weapon with the Graviton special rule), it must take a cover save against it
and later in the Rule
If the save is passed, the hit is discarded
- Vehicles and Cover - Obscured Targets

This is likely where the confusion is stemming from as well, because it was very interesting that they singled out a Weapon which jumps straight to the Damage Result to allows Vehicle Cover Saves. Of course, this is limited to just Cover Saves and it is only for Shooting attacks as well so it is completely irreverent to the discussion at hand. Stomp attacks are a special type of attack, carried out in a completely different Phase, so it will be able to apply the Result and by-pass both Cover and Invulnerability Saves easily. Wondering if I am just blind and over looking the Invulnerability Saves equivalent for Shooting attacks as well?

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/09/26 03:46:39


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: