Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/27 20:45:20
Subject: imperial knight in challange
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
hello,
i have i question, today my imperial knight warlord was challanged by an other chacater. after he hit i hit him back (so rolled to hit and then on the destroyer weapon table) the result was a total of 11 wounds
i thought that the enemy got his 3 wounds and the other 9 went over to the unit as in a normal challange. but the destroyer tables states the model suffers d6+6 (in my case 11) wounds. it was rules since it states THE MODEL that they do need bleed through.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/27 23:02:51
Subject: imperial knight in challange
|
 |
Growlin' Guntrukk Driver with Killacannon
USA, Maine
|
I thought any overage in wounds carries through to the unit.
|
Painted armies:
Orks: 11000 points
Marines: 9500 points
Khorne Marines: 2500 points
Khorne Demons: 1500 points |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/27 23:15:36
Subject: imperial knight in challange
|
 |
[MOD]
Not as Good as a Minion
|
And off we go to YMDC
|
I wish I had time for all the game systems I own, let alone want to own... |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/27 23:35:07
Subject: imperial knight in challange
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
PhillyT wrote:I thought any overage in wounds carries through to the unit. Normally they do, but "Multiple Wounds/Hull Points inflicted by a Destroyer hit do not carry over to other models in the unit (any excess are lost)." (Special Rules chapter, Destroyer Weapons section). So they do not bleed through.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/27 23:35:43
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/28 01:29:54
Subject: imperial knight in challange
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Almost correct DR.
The wounds off of a single D str hit do not carry over, but since this is a case of multiple D str hits, some of them might in fact carry over.
You would apply the first hit, roll to see how many wounds inflicted, and then, if the recieving model was still alive, apply the second hit to him and so on until he is dead.
Any remaining hits after do in fact flow over to the rest of the unit, once again, applied one at a time until all the str D hits are rolled for.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/28 01:53:41
Subject: imperial knight in challange
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Eihnlazer wrote:Almost correct DR.
The wounds off of a single D str hit do not carry over, but since this is a case of multiple D str hits, some of them might in fact carry over.
You would apply the first hit, roll to see how many wounds inflicted, and then, if the recieving model was still alive, apply the second hit to him and so on until he is dead.
Any remaining hits after do in fact flow over to the rest of the unit, once again, applied one at a time until all the str D hits are rolled for.
So what rule trumps the rule I posted, because there is a restriction in place, and can't trumps must in a permissive ruleset. (Unless the must specifically mentions that it overrides the cant).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/28 04:32:09
Subject: imperial knight in challange
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Its not that what you posted is incorrect, its that the D weapon chart does not follow the normal wounding process and in fact replaces it.
You roll to hit, then you take each hit and roll separately on the destroyer chart for them.
If the model in the challenge dies on the first or second hit, the challenge is over and now the remaining hits "must" be allocated to other models in the unit as per the D weapon rules.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/28 05:40:08
Subject: imperial knight in challange
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Eihnlazer wrote:Its not that what you posted is incorrect, its that the D weapon chart does not follow the normal wounding process and in fact replaces it.
You roll to hit, then you take each hit and roll separately on the destroyer chart for them.
If the model in the challenge dies on the first or second hit, the challenge is over and now the remaining hits "must" be allocated to other models in the unit as per the D weapon rules.
Except cant trumps must in a permissive ruleset and wounds do not carry over to other models in the unit.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/28 05:51:05
Subject: imperial knight in challange
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
Wounds do carry over, but that's not even relevant to this particular case.
I'll run through an example and tell me where you think im wrong.
Charge goes off, knight and chaos lord are in a challenge.
Lord swings first and chunks off 2 HP from knight.
Knight swings, getting 3 hits.
First hit, as per the D weapon rolls scores a 3, doing D3 wounds. As the Lord has no invun save he is instant killed due to D hits counting as str 10. You don't even have to roll the D3 wounds, cause they don't carry over and don't matter.
The second and third hits, are now allocated to the unit that the lord was attached to, seeing as how the knight is no longer in a challenge with the lord. You would then roll 2 D chart hits, scoring a 2 and a 5, doing another D3 wounds to 2 other models, not carrying over to any other models.
What I think you've been suggesting is that you have to roll all the 3 hits on the D chart at once, total the wounds, and then seeing as how the first one kills the lord you would discard all the remaining wounds as the multiple wounds from D don't carry over. That's an incorrect way to do it. If that is not what your suggesting then I apologize.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/28 06:02:07
Subject: imperial knight in challange
|
 |
Stubborn Dark Angels Veteran Sergeant
|
Eihnlazer wrote:Almost correct DR.
The wounds off of a single D str hit do not carry over, but since this is a case of multiple D str hits, some of them might in fact carry over.
You would apply the first hit, roll to see how many wounds inflicted, and then, if the recieving model was still alive, apply the second hit to him and so on until he is dead.
Any remaining hits after do in fact flow over to the rest of the unit, once again, applied one at a time until all the str D hits are rolled for.
Absolutely correct.
If your knight lands 3 hits in a challenge, and then rolls 3 6's, the total damage to the opponent will be one dead character, and 2 dead squad members.
The excess wounds from ((6 + d6 wounds) - enemy character's current wounds) will not effect the squad, however additional hits and damage rolls will damage the character's squad as normal.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/28 06:03:08
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/28 06:44:51
Subject: imperial knight in challange
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Eihnlazer wrote:Wounds do carry over, but that's not even relevant to this particular case. I'll run through an example and tell me where you think im wrong. Charge goes off, knight and chaos lord are in a challenge. Lord swings first and chunks off 2 HP from knight. Knight swings, getting 3 hits. First hit, as per the D weapon rolls scores a 3, doing D3 wounds. As the Lord has no invun save he is instant killed due to D hits counting as str 10. You don't even have to roll the D3 wounds, cause they don't carry over and don't matter. The second and third hits, are now allocated to the unit that the lord was attached to, seeing as how the knight is no longer in a challenge with the lord. You would then roll 2 D chart hits, scoring a 2 and a 5, doing another D3 wounds to 2 other models, not carrying over to any other models. What I think you've been suggesting is that you have to roll all the 3 hits on the D chart at once, total the wounds, and then seeing as how the first one kills the lord you would discard all the remaining wounds as the multiple wounds from D don't carry over. That's an incorrect way to do it. If that is not what your suggesting then I apologize. I see what you are getting at, and I didnt realize you were saying this. Yes the extra hits would carry over, but not the D3 wounds. (Because of the rules I posted in response to PhillyT saying what he said, and the fact that you roll all To Hit rolls at I4 at the same time as the attacks are simultaneous). So if the knight has 3 attacks and hits thrice, and kills the challenger with the first hit/wound the other two hits would be rolled for on the next closest models. So in total 3 models could die if all three attacks hit and no 1's were rolled for the wound roll on the D weapon chart.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/09/28 06:48:25
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/09/29 13:40:17
Subject: imperial knight in challange
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
Is the knight warlord able to be in a challenge in the first place?
I didn't think Imperial Knights were characters. Do they have a special rule for their warlords?
[EDIT] Just looked at the FAQ. Yes, apparently they do. Nice!
And yes, wounds wouldn't carry over model-to-model, but hits would 'roll over' into the unit.
The stomp attacks would certainly be able to hit the unit as they don't follow the normal rules for attacks.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/09/29 13:44:16
Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
|
|
 |
 |
|