| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 01:17:12
Subject: Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
 SO, I play skaven and my bud plays Ogre Kingdoms. Battles have been going well and we have learned many of the rules.
We have a confusing area with wounds and ogres. I read in the rule book about having to remove complete models if you can with regular wounds tom a unit, BUT If i was to cast scorch on a unit of 8 ogres i would hit 4 of them with the small round template. The template rules then say that that equals out to 4 hits from the template, good. Now lets say I roll 4 6's and get 4 wounds. Would this do 4 wounds to the unit of ogres resulting in one dead ogre and another with 2 wounds left. OR 4 ogres that were under the template with 2 wounds left.
not sure if I have posted this in right area... new here
any replies that help are welcome
 GLORY TO THE GREAT HORNED RAT
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 01:21:44
Subject: Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Courageous Silver Helm
|
In the case of causing wounds to multi-wound models you just add up the total number of wounds and remove that many wounds-worth of models. So, if you did 4W total you would remove 1 ogre (3W) and also leave a wound marker on the unit so there would be an ogre left with only 2W.
If you then hit the unit again and did 5W you would remove two ogres as you add this to the one wound remaining on the unit and the total is 6W i.e. two of the ogres are now dead. Automatically Appended Next Post: Does this help?
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/01 01:22:08
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 01:24:47
Subject: Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
John Rainbow wrote:In the case of causing wounds to multi-wound models you just add up the total number of wounds and remove that many wounds-worth of models. So, if you did 4W total you would remove 1 ogre (3W) and also leave a wound marker on the unit so there would be an ogre left with only 2W.
If you then hit the unit again and did 5W you would remove two ogres as you add this to the one wound remaining on the unit and the total is 6W i.e. two of the ogres are now dead.
Automatically Appended Next Post:
Does this help?
So my friend can't spread his wounds around to avoid panic checks and loss of attacks?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 01:33:52
Subject: Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
No, that was a 5th edition 40k trick with complex unit (i.e. nobs all equipped differently). Spreading wounds has never been a thing in fantasy that I can recall.
|
Six mistakes mankind keeps making century after century: Believing that personal gain is made by crushing others; Worrying about things that cannot be changed or corrected; Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it; Refusing to set aside trivial preferences; Neglecting development and refinement of the mind; Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 04:23:45
Subject: Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
The Conquerer
Waiting for my shill money from Spiral Arm Studios
|
Basically, each hit can only ever kill 1 Ogre. And excess wounds do not bleed over.
Say you inflict 3 wounds with multiple wounds D3.
The multiple wounds rolls are,
3, 2, and 3.
The first wound kills an ogre. The second causes 2 wounds. The third finishes off the injured ogre.
If the unit has 2 wounds on it, and an attack that causes D6 wounds hits it once and rolls a 6 for wounds caused, only one ogre dies and the 2 floating wounds disappear.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/01 04:24:56
Self-proclaimed evil Cat-person. Dues Ex Felines
Cato Sicarius, after force feeding Captain Ventris a copy of the Codex Astartes for having the audacity to play Deathwatch, chokes to death on his own D-baggery after finding Calgar assembling his new Eldar army.
MURICA!!! IN SPESS!!! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 05:07:49
Subject: Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Grey Templar wrote:
If the unit has 2 wounds on it, and an attack that causes D6 wounds hits it once and rolls a 6 for wounds caused, only one ogre dies and the 2 floating wounds disappear.
This is incorrect, you would do 3 wounds removing one ogre and floating two wounds.
a wound causing multiwounds can each do up to the maximum number of wounds on the profile of the model hit regardless of the number of wounds on the unit, you then tally all the wounds caused and remove the corresponding number of models "floating" the leftover wounds.
*Edit : Poor reading and math*
|
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/10/01 08:43:49
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 09:54:06
Subject: Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Sniping Hexa
Dublin
|
People always get this wrong, even though the question pops up every week or so
Models within units composed of multi-wounds models do NOT have individual wounds
Units have a wound pool
There's two times when the wound value of individual wounds is taken into account:
- to calculate the unit's wound pool
- to cap multi-wound rolls
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 09:56:17
Subject: Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Stealthy Space Wolves Scout
|
Grey Templar wrote:Basically, each hit can only ever kill 1 Ogre. And excess wounds do not bleed over.
Say you inflict 3 wounds with multiple wounds D3.
The multiple wounds rolls are,
3, 2, and 3.
The first wound kills an ogre. The second causes 2 wounds. The third finishes off the injured ogre.
If the unit has 2 wounds on it, and an attack that causes D6 wounds hits it once and rolls a 6 for wounds caused, only one ogre dies and the 2 floating wounds disappear.
I'm not sure where to begin with how wrong this is.
Okay. You're not wounding models, you're wounding the unit. lets say theres 8 ogres on a plate. you deal 4 wounds. You kill whole models first, so 3 of the 4 wounds will be allocated to one model, killing it. The last wound will carry over to hit another model. Next time you hit that unit, he will have to allocate further wounds to that wounded model first until it is dead, and further wounds carry on the next, like a series of cups spilling over.
|
DR:80-S++G+M-B---I+Pw40k#10++D+A++++/cWD-R+++T(T)DM+
(Grey Knights 4500+) (Eldar 4000+ Pts) (Tyranids 3000 Pts) (Tau 3000 Pts) (Imperial Guard 3500 Pts) (Doom Eagles 3000 Pts) (Orks 3000+ Pts) (Necrons 2500 Pts) (Daemons 2000) (Sisters of Battle 2000) (2 Imperial Knights) |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 11:46:37
Subject: Re:Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Powerful Chaos Warrior
|
Here's how I interpret it; template hits and each hit is D3 wounds, therefor total the wounds and subtract that amount of models, if all of the hits and D3's = 11, then remove 3 fresh ogres and carry 2 wounds
However if it was a stone thrower and the guy under the whole took d6 wounds, which roles a 5, just take him away because they are on him
|
Alex 'Salior' Wheatley
- Warriors of Chaos / Savage Ogres
- Most VP - Eatbats 2014
- 2nd - Bunker Brawl 2014
- 3rd - Blood on the Sands 2013
'A proper Imperial Guard regiment should have enough men to build a starport from corpses, if need be.'
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 12:04:30
Subject: Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Pyeatt - no, you dont wound a specific model. The unit has a wound pool, to which any appropriate model can have 3 assigned to kill it. This stops you have attacks from two flanks "wounding" models differently - they both conspire to kill one model, not injure 2.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 12:50:22
Subject: Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
|
Except with cannons and bolt throwers...
|
Six mistakes mankind keeps making century after century: Believing that personal gain is made by crushing others; Worrying about things that cannot be changed or corrected; Insisting that a thing is impossible because we cannot accomplish it; Refusing to set aside trivial preferences; Neglecting development and refinement of the mind; Attempting to compel others to believe and live as we do |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 13:34:15
Subject: Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Unless theyre RnF, in which case you still remove from the back, even if front row bob was killed.
It only really matters in those cases a) for characters / champions and b) still only really for characters / champions
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/01 14:14:10
Subject: Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Courageous Silver Helm
|
Grey Templar wrote:Basically, each hit can only ever kill 1 Ogre. And excess wounds do not bleed over.
Say you inflict 3 wounds with multiple wounds D3.
The multiple wounds rolls are,
3, 2, and 3.
The first wound kills an ogre. The second causes 2 wounds. The third finishes off the injured ogre.
If the unit has 2 wounds on it, and an attack that causes D6 wounds hits it once and rolls a 6 for wounds caused, only one ogre dies and the 2 floating wounds disappear.
Entirely wrong and also does not answer the question in the OP which is not even asking about multiple wounds.
Please look at my original response and let me know if you have more questions Automatically Appended Next Post: SkavenLordTeej wrote:So my friend can't spread his wounds around to avoid panic checks and loss of attacks?
As others have said, no you can't.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/01 14:14:42
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/22 17:29:47
Subject: Re:Ogres and wound allocation :/ templates
|
 |
Fiery Bright Wizard
|
Units have wound pools, and when you blast a unit, you blast the wound pool, not the single ogre. so, lets say you had 10 ogres in a unit, so 30 wounds in the pool. You blast them and get 8 wounds, taking 8 from the wound pool, killing 2 ogres and dropping 2 wounds on another, you never target individual units unless specifically stated by rules, so no, you cannot move wounds around in fantasy to avoid panic checks. Same goes with multi-wound attacks, lets say you land 3 multi-wound (D3) attacks on the same unit of ogres with 30 wounds. After you multiply your wounds from 3 to, lets say 7 wounds, you take those 7 from the ogres wound pool, killing 2 and doing 1 wound on another. Hope this helps, and I wrote this correctly
|
I'll never be able to repay CA for making GW realize that The Old World was a cash cow, left to die in a field. |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|