Switch Theme:

Poisoned & Rerolls  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut






Let's say my GUO melee attacks hit, then wound on a 2+ because of high strength. Is the poison reroll at 2+ or the 4+ set by his poisoned rule? The way I read the rule it's 2+ but multiple opponents have said it's at 4+.
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






The key part of the Poisoned rule (p169) in this instance is "it always wounds on a fixed number {...} unless a lower result would be required," (emphasis mine).

You would also get to re-roll fails of that roll, due to the last sentence of the first paragraph.
   
Made in au
Regular Dakkanaut






Yep, but what do you need to roll the second time?
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Ah, ok, I think I misread your first post. I see the issue now.

A re-roll is always just the same roll again. Barring BS6+ or some tournament-specific rules the roll will always have the same target number. You literally just pick up the dice and roll it again, almost completely ignoring the first roll. So the re-roll will need a 2+ if that's what the first roll needed.
   
Made in ca
Khorne Veteran Marine with Chain-Axe






 Quanar wrote:
Ah, ok, I think I misread your first post. I see the issue now.

A re-roll is always just the same roll again. Barring BS6+ or some tournament-specific rules the roll will always have the same target number. You literally just pick up the dice and roll it again, almost completely ignoring the first roll. So the re-roll will need a 2+ if that's what the first roll needed.


Truth, in case a 2nd vote of confidence was necessary for the clear distinction of the rules.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: