Switch Theme:

Is it possible to deny a charge with a flyer base?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Guarding Guardian




USA

If it is obvious to any(every)one, I apologize! I'm still learning the game.
So, am I reading this right? I think it comes out to say you could try to deny an enemy unit from charging your unit by parking the base of your flyer between the two units?
Situational, sure, but interesting. One more tool in the box of Trickery.

Movement Phase:
Models in the Way
A model cannot move within 1" of an enemy model unless they are charging into close
combat in the Assault phase, and can never move or pivot (see below) through another
model (friend or foe) at any time. To move past, they must go around.

Assault Phase:
DECLARE CHARGE
Choose a unit in your army that is declaring a charge and nominate the enemy unit(s) it is
attempting to charge. A unit can never declare a charge against a unit that it
cannot reach ...

Unit Types:
Charging Zooming Flyers
Due to their high speed (and presumably high altitude), Zooming Flyers cannot be
charged.

~~~Eldar Trickery = Awesome sauce!~~~

But it's expensive sauce! 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

Well, yes... if you put something in the way that stops the unit from being able to reach their intended target, they can't charge.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




You can position flyers and swoopers to block charging lanes and prevent models from reaching their targets.
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





You can't move through the flyer's base but you can just go around it
   
Made in ca
Irked Necron Immortal





Edmonton Ab

 CrownAxe wrote:
You can't move through the flyer's base but you can just go around it


While maintaining a 1 inch minimum from the flyer base at all times as you can not move closer if that is not your intended target. Nor can you multi assault a flyer.

Unkown/1500
My Necron Blog
 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 GaussGuy wrote:
While maintaining a 1 inch minimum from the flyer base at all times as you can not move closer if that is not your intended target. .

The 1 inch rule is ignored when you are charging. You are just restricted from moving into base contact with models from units you are not charging.

 
   
Made in us
Infiltrating Broodlord





Oklahoma City

The way I see it is like this:

1. The obvious part, you can not charge or multi assault a flyer so you can't end your movement within 1" of any edge or on the base of the flyer

2. If you roll a charge range long enough to reach your target, on the other side of the flying base, with enough clearance between target and flying base to allow for the width of your assaulting model and the 1" of required distance, then you may move across the flying base in a straight charge lane.

Really the only reason you can't end ON the flying base is because it's GW's way of ruling that models need to be so far apart if they aren't in the same unit or punching each other. The flyer itself should have no bearing on the ground/base below it as it is just that, flying.

Proud supporter of


It is human nature to seek culpability in a time of tragedy. It is a sign of strength to cry out against fate, rather than to bow one's head and succumb.
-Gabriel Angelos 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

 bocatt wrote:
1. The obvious part, you can not charge or multi assault a flyer so you can't end your movement within 1" of any edge or on the base of the flyer

Again, this is not true.

When charging, you are only forbidden from moving into base contact with a unit you are not assaulting. The rules for charging specifically tell us to ignore the 1" rule.



 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: