Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/10 13:48:15
Subject: Land Raider is a troops choice?
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
Sorry for this dumb question, I'm just coming back to the game after a long time.
I read in an older reddit post that Land Raiders are troop choices now (as opposed to heavy support). I looked at the new SM codex and they are still listed as heavy support, not troops.
Am I misunderstanding the craziness of 7th edition rules, or is this guy just wrong? This is the reddit post. He says:
Crusader squad in Crusader land-raider are awesome, one of the best troop choice, especially now that the land-raider counts as a troop choice.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/10 13:53:41
Subject: Re:Land Raider is a troops choice?
|
 |
Contagious Dreadnought of Nurgle
|
Yup. If you take a Crusader Squad they may take a Land Raider Crusader as a dedicated transport. And Crusader Squads are troop choices. At least that's what my copy of Codex:SM says...
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/10 13:53:53
Subject: Land Raider is a troops choice?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
For Black Templars, yes: LRC's can be taken as Dedicated transports for Crusader squads.
|
Mr Vetock, give back my Multi-tracker! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/10 14:09:12
Subject: Re:Land Raider is a troops choice?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Yeah, like the others said, the LR itself isn't a troops choice. It's just that if you pick a Black Templar Crusader squad, they can also select a LRC and it won't count against your Heavy Support slots on the FOC.
|
Edit: I just googled ablutions and apparently it does not including dropping a duece. I should have looked it up early sorry for any confusion. - Baldsmug
Psiensis on the "good old days":
"Kids these days...
... I invented the 6th Ed meta back in 3rd ed.
Wait, what were we talking about again? Did I ever tell you about the time I gave you five bees for a quarter? That's what you'd say in those days, "give me five bees for a quarter", is what you'd say in those days. And you'd go down to the D&D shop, with an onion in your belt, 'cause that was the style of the time. So there I was in the D&D shop..." |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/10 14:42:49
Subject: Land Raider is a troops choice?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Dedicated Transports have the same battlefield role as the unit that unlocks them, regardless of whether or not the vehicle can be chosen to fill a slot on its own.
So for example, if a Tac Squad takes a Drop Pod, as a DT, that specific Pod will be a Troop unit., Where as a Pod taken by a Sternguard Veterans unit, would be an Elite unit.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/10 15:07:22
Subject: Land Raider is a troops choice?
|
 |
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk
|
Ah thanks. Yeah I'm used to thinking about dedicated transports as not taking up force org slots... not being counted as the force org that they are dedicated for. So I got thrown through a loop when the guy said "land-raider counts as a troop choice". I guess I'm just more used to the idea of the squad being the troop choice and the transport just being a dedicated transport optioned by the squad.
Sorry I'm still in the 3rd ed mindset where the rhino was a dedicated transport but the LRC was a heavy. I see the listing in the new SM codex that allows you to take the LRC as a dedicated transport.
sorry.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/10 16:38:49
Subject: Re:Land Raider is a troops choice?
|
 |
Quick-fingered Warlord Moderatus
|
Sorry I'm still in the 3rd ed mindset
I can only imagine how confusing some of this would be for someone who's been out that long! Welcome back!
|
Edit: I just googled ablutions and apparently it does not including dropping a duece. I should have looked it up early sorry for any confusion. - Baldsmug
Psiensis on the "good old days":
"Kids these days...
... I invented the 6th Ed meta back in 3rd ed.
Wait, what were we talking about again? Did I ever tell you about the time I gave you five bees for a quarter? That's what you'd say in those days, "give me five bees for a quarter", is what you'd say in those days. And you'd go down to the D&D shop, with an onion in your belt, 'cause that was the style of the time. So there I was in the D&D shop..." |
|
 |
 |
|