Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/14 04:53:42
Subject: Reserves coming Turn 1
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Recently had a rules question come up. I had a list with two units deploying as normal, a Drop Pod/Dread unit in reserve, a DW unit coming in Turn 1, and a squad of bikes outflanking. My opponents argued that my bikes could not Outflank, as that was more than half my army in Reserves. Do DW units that come in T1 count as Reserves/would my single Drop Pod using Drop Pod Assault to come in T1 also count?
|
~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/14 04:58:29
Subject: Reserves coming Turn 1
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
What is wrong with having more than half of your army in Reserves?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/14 05:02:17
Subject: Reserves coming Turn 1
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Your opponent was thinking of 6th ed. There is no restriction on amount of reserves in 7th.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/14 05:02:54
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/14 05:05:35
Subject: Reserves coming Turn 1
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Do not have my rulebook on me, but is that not one of the conditions now? I thought only half of your army could be in Reserves. Or is that my brain holding over stuff from 6th?
|
~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/14 06:14:02
Subject: Reserves coming Turn 1
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
jreilly89 wrote:Do not have my rulebook on me, but is that not one of the conditions now? I thought only half of your army could be in Reserves. Or is that my brain holding over stuff from 6th?
As xera32 said, that was 6th ed. There is no restriction on amount of reserves in 7th.
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/14 06:18:30
Subject: Reserves coming Turn 1
|
 |
Experienced Maneater
|
DeathReaper wrote: jreilly89 wrote:Do not have my rulebook on me, but is that not one of the conditions now? I thought only half of your army could be in Reserves. Or is that my brain holding over stuff from 6th?
As xera32 said, that was 6th ed. There is no restriction on amount of reserves in 7th.
Pretty sure I read the restriction in the 7th rulebook.
But Drop Pods don't count against this limit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/14 06:24:10
Subject: Reserves coming Turn 1
|
 |
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets
|
Hanskrampf wrote: DeathReaper wrote: jreilly89 wrote:Do not have my rulebook on me, but is that not one of the conditions now? I thought only half of your army could be in Reserves. Or is that my brain holding over stuff from 6th?
As xera32 said, that was 6th ed. There is no restriction on amount of reserves in 7th.
Pretty sure I read the restriction in the 7th rulebook.
But Drop Pods don't count against this limit.
Then do Deathwing count against this limit? Also, if it is in 7th, can you post the Pg. #? I want to have this in case my opponent references it
|
~1.5k
Successful Trades: Ashrog (1), Iron35 (1), Rathryan (3), Leth (1), Eshm (1), Zeke48 (1), Gorkamorka12345 (1),
Melevolence (2), Ascalam (1), Swanny318, (1) ScootyPuffJunior, (1) LValx (1), Jim Solo (1), xSoulgrinderx (1), Reese (1), Pretre (1) |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/14 06:36:43
Subject: Reserves coming Turn 1
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Hanskrampf wrote: DeathReaper wrote: jreilly89 wrote:Do not have my rulebook on me, but is that not one of the conditions now? I thought only half of your army could be in Reserves. Or is that my brain holding over stuff from 6th?
As xera32 said, that was 6th ed. There is no restriction on amount of reserves in 7th.
Pretty sure I read the restriction in the 7th rulebook.
But Drop Pods don't count against this limit.
Unless the DE rulebook is very different, you did not read it in the 7th edition rulebook. That rule was removed.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/15 08:04:50
Subject: Reserves coming Turn 1
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
There is no limit in v7.
If you are guaranteed units that arrive in the first turn, you can even deploy nothing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/15 08:24:31
Subject: Reserves coming Turn 1
|
 |
Battleship Captain
|
One warning, though - the "nothing on table - you lose" is calculated at the end of the GAME turn, not YOUR turn now.
This means that where before a lone unit arriving in your turn was fine, it may now have to arrive and survive your opponent's shooting phase.
|
Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/15 10:12:14
Subject: Reserves coming Turn 1
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
locarno24 wrote:One warning, though - the "nothing on table - you lose" is calculated at the end of the GAME turn, not YOUR turn now.
This means that where before a lone unit arriving in your turn was fine, it may now have to arrive and survive your opponent's shooting phase.
It was game turn in 6th edition as well.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/15 10:12:44
Subject: Reserves coming Turn 1
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
locarno24 wrote:One warning, though - the "nothing on table - you lose" is calculated at the end of the GAME turn, not YOUR turn now.
It was last edition as well.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|