Switch Theme:

White Scars Jump Pack HQ joined to Raven Guard Jump Pack Unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




As stated in the title, if a White Scars jump pack HQ is attached to a Raven Guard jump pack unit, what happens when that unit makes a charge?

Can the whole unit re-roll its charge range and get to use its jump packs due to Raven Guard chapter tactics? Does the whole unit only roll once and move as infantry? I ask because in the character section, it states that attached characters move following the rules of their given model type, and under assault, it states: If a character is in a unit that charges into close combat, the character charges too, as it is part of the unit. I guess I'm not sure if the Raven Guard chapter tactics special rules would still apply then.

My intent was to play with a Raven Guard librarian in a Vanguard Vet unit along with a White Scars librarian so the unit gains hit and run (and hopefully invisibility).

Thanks!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/10/16 02:57:53


 
   
Made in pr
Longtime Dakkanaut




Minneapolis, MN

If that same White Scars HQ model did not have a jump pack, would it change the answer to this question?
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I... think... this falls under the very poorly worded Rule:
While an Independent Character is part of a unit, he counts as part of the unit for all rules purposes, though he still follows the rules for characters.
-Joining and Leaving a Unit, Independent Character

I am not entirely sure of which Rules you are asking about, as I thought this was in relation to the Raven Guard Tactic of Winged Deliverance but now I am not sure... in the case of Winged Deliverance, the subject matter is Jump infantry Models in this Detachment so it would be granted to the White Scar Independent Character in question. After all, it is now part of a Unit that was selected for a "Raven Guard Detachment," so it would be breaking a Rule that I despise because of how 'absolute' it is to treat it otherwise....

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/10/16 05:08:05


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Tough Tyrant Guard





SHE-FI-ELD

Depends how the rule is worded imo.
Much like all the other threads on units/detachments etc.

Theres some debate in all of them wether the IC 'switches' detachment, due to detachment rules etc, also considering many have slightly different wording for *probably* no reason, it's quite hard to determine intent of this one. I mean, what if he is your warlord and suddenly he's not part of the detachment which your warlord must be from?

How we play it is as if its a unit rule from the codex or any sort of rule thats gained at the selection process, which in most cases are not transferred.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/10/16 07:35:41


It's my codex and I'll cry If I want to.

Tactical objectives are fantastic 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Nem wrote:
Depends how the rule is worded imo.
Much like all the other threads on units/detachments etc.

Theres some debate in all of them wether the IC 'switches' detachment, due to detachment rules etc, also considering many have slightly different wording for *probably* no reason, it's quite hard to determine intent of this one. I mean, what if he is your warlord and suddenly he's not part of the detachment which your warlord must be from?

How we play it is as if its a unit rule from the codex or any sort of rule thats gained at the selection process, which in most cases are not transferred.


There has never been a debate whether the IC switches detachment or not. It is a statement that certain parties like to argue against, despite the other side never having claimed that at all.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





 Nem wrote:
Theres some debate in all of them wether the IC 'switches' detachment, due to detachment rules etc, also considering many have slightly different wording for *probably* no reason, it's quite hard to determine intent of this one. I mean, what if he is your warlord and suddenly he's not part of the detachment which your warlord must be from?

Literally no one has ever argued that. You like to pretend otherwise but it's just not true.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Since the RG CT only applies to models in the Detachment (which the WS model is not), wouldn't this apply?:

Under "Roll Charge Range":

"If a unit has models that roll differently for their charge range, the whole unit must charge at the speed of the slowest model"

The rule does have it's problems since it says roll for the unit, and then alludes to, not explicitly states, that you group the rolls by how they "roll differently".

We would then get:

The WS IC doesn't get to re-roll so he has the original result.

If the first result was lower, the unit moves at the rate of the WS.

If the second result was lower, the unit moves at the rate of the RG.

So, either the unit moves the same speed with the re-roll or worse.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/16 14:08:02


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





The wording for chapter tactics is actually more clear than the wording for detachment special rules which people try to apply to detachments other than the one that they are for...what's even more interesting is the only "questions" about these kinds of things are in regards to space marines when other armies have the same wording, not sure if there are more cherry pickers in the SM camp, or SM players have a bad grasp on rules...

Winged Deliverance: Jump Infantry models in this detachment may use their jump
packs in both the Movement and Assault phases of the same turn. Furthermore, they
must re-roll failed To Wound rolls caused by their Hammer of Wrath hits


is the WS model a model from that Raven Guard detachment?

The only RAW answer is no regardless of any other situation.

special rules from detachments are given to models before deployment.

there is specific RAW in the brb under independent characters joining units that have special rules they do not have, the raven guard models in this case have the winged deliverance special rule, the WS IC attached does not.

the whole unit charges at the speed of the slowest model

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/10/16 14:28:36


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: