Switch Theme:

Challenges: Vs Single Model Unit  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
Which do You Agree With Most?
Interpretation 1
Interpretation 2

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife




Which of these two interpretations do you share, or if yours is different then feel free to suggest it.
The scenario is that a unit containing character A, charges a unit that only contains a single character, called character B. Character A issues a challenge, so character B accepts (as he must). My question is what about the other non-character models?

Interpretation 1:
Only the two characters in the challenge may fight as the rules say that wounds from outside of the challenge can only be allocated once everyone else is dead, but it doesn't say (AFAIK) that you can roll to hit against the challengee, therefore since hits cannot be struck, wounds cannot be inflicted.

Or

Interpretation 2:
All models can fight, character B can only fight character A until he has been slain, as the rules do not say that they cannot (AFAIK).
   
Made in be
Longtime Dakkanaut




gak I hit the wrong vote. I voted #1 but meant to vote #2.

You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness.  
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





Nothing in the challenge rules prevent you from rolling to hit and wound against the unit even if the unit is a single model.

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

Number one.

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
Made in gb
Battleship Captain




The rules do not prevent the squad making their attacks normally, it only prevents them assigning those wounds into the challenge if there are any enemies not involved, or vice versa for the combatants in the challenge.

Special circumstances (like a challenge) do not modify the basic rules except where they say they do. There is no requirement to say 'the rest of the squad can roll to hit' because they're able to as they normally are.

The only exception is that when working out who can strike, I believe only the challenger counts as in base contact, regardless of who else might have been able to pile in (so some models who might have been able to fight in a normal assault can't)



Termagants expended for the Hive Mind: ~2835
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





locarno24 wrote:
The only exception is that when working out who can strike, I believe only the challenger counts as in base contact, regardless of who else might have been able to pile in (so some models who might have been able to fight in a normal assault can't)

This is no longer the case in 7ed
   
Made in gb
Ultramarine Chaplain with Hate to Spare





 Jimsolo wrote:
Number one.


Why on earth would you say that?

Take the Magic: The Gathering 'What Color Are You?' Quiz.

Yes my Colour is Black but not for the reasons stated mainly just because it's slimming... http://imperiusdominatus.blogspot.com 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: