Switch Theme:

FMC and Cover Saves  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tunneling Trygon





NJ

This may be more of a lack of knowledge on how the rules function than an actual situation that requires rules interpretation, but I am unsure how to proceed nonetheless. Say you have a Tyranid FMC (or any FMC for that matter, but Tyranid ones like the Harpy or Hive Crone illustrate this best). Let's talk about some situations that can arise, and how cover is obtained (or not obtained) in each scenario:

1) the Harpy is hiding behind a small ruin. The model itself is not obscured because it is so high, although the stand certainly is obscured by the ruin. Does the harpy get cover if it's gliding? If it's swooping?

2) The Harpy is swooping and has a toe in a ruin. Does it get cover?

3) The Harpy is behind a Carnifex. The carnifex is a big boy but definitely doesn't obscure the Harpy because the model is so high off the ground. Does the Harpy get cover from the intervening unit?

4) A Venomthrope is nearby, within 6" of the Harpy's base but not within 6" of the Harpy itself in 3 dimensions. Does the harpy get the shrouded rule?

   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

I don't think the base/stand count as part of the model. As such:

1. No, The Harpy is not 25% obscured and does not get cover.
2. Only if the ruin is also area terrain. Otherwise, see number 1.
3. Since the shooter would be shooting over the Carnifex, the Carnifex does not intervene.
4. Yes. When measuring between non-vehicle models, you use the base.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

For questions 1, 3 and 4, Happyjew is entirely correct; only if the Harpy (not including its base or flight stand) is more than 25% obscured is it granted a cover save.

For question 2, models in ruins are granted a cover save regardless of whether they are at least 25% obscured, though it may be difficult for a Harpy to be in the ruins.

 Happyjew wrote:
2. Only if the ruin is also area terrain. Otherwise, see number 1.


What's an area terrain?

(I know what you mean, but area terrain no longer exists, and ruins appear to be one of the few instances (the only?) of what used to be described as area terrain)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/19 05:52:20


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: