Switch Theme:

Tyranid synapse and unit coverage? -wrecking ball maneuver  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok so here is the thing after rereading the rules several times I can't find any reason this wouldn't work: you have your synapse creature with 12" bubble and you have 30 terms or horms. Is it legal to string them out so you have 1-2 units in the bubble and the rest 2" apart then at the other end you have the main group? The rules only refer to units not individual pieces so if any part of a unit is in synapse one can infer the whole unit would have synapse. Picture a wrecking ball.

Now if this is true you might say well if they shoot a few guys in the string it would no longer work. Again after reading the rules it seems that the way unit coherence works with missing pieces is that it's still considered a unit they must simply reestablish unit coherency as best they can durning their next movement phase, but would still be considered a unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/20 18:47:18


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Millstone wrote:
Ok so here is the thing after rereading the rules several times I can't find any reason this wouldn't work: you have your synapse creature with 12" bubble and you have 30 terms or horms. Is it legal to string them out so you have 1-2 units in the bubble and the rest 2" apart then at the other end you have the main group? The rules only refer to units not individual pieces so if any part of a unit is in synapse one can infer the whole unit would have synapse. Picture a wrecking ball.

First, your terminology needs some work. Units are made up of models. Models are the things with the bases.
So yes, it's legal to string 1-2 models into Synapse to have the unit count as being in Synapse.

Now if this is true you might say well if they shoot a few guys in the string it would no longer work. Again after reading the rules it seems that the way unit coherence works with missing pieces is that it's still considered a unit they must simply reestablish unit coherency as best they can durning their next movement phase, but would still be considered a unit.

Correct. For Hormagaunts this is still essentially game ending because it slows them down significantly, but it's a viable tactic depending on, well, a lot of things.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Yes that is how synapes works. Now let me tell you why that is a bad tactic.

I charge your gaunts. Now all the gaunts have to pile in towards me for 3". Now you're out of synapse range and being gaunts you just lost combat (because since you were so spread out most of your gaunts aren't getting to attack) and now have to take a morale check at LD6 with minuses for losing combat. I then sweep your unit.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/20 18:55:43


 
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





If you do it right you still might win combat - With Horms that's still a bunch of attacks, but this is a major risk and one that you have to take into consideration... hence "a lot of things". :-)

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Except for the fact that they would still be fearless unless you destroyed the MODELS in the bubble of synapse since the benefit of synapse would still extend to the whole unit.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





Millstone wrote:
Except for the fact that they would still be fearless unless you destroyed the MODELS in the bubble of synapse since the benefit of synapse would still extend to the whole unit.

When engaged in CC all models in the unit must pile in 3". If you only have 1-2 models in the Synapse bubble, they'd Pile In out of the Synapse bubble... and lose Fearless because of that.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: