Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/23 20:53:41
Subject: Deny the Witch roll question?
|
 |
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren
|
If you cast a psychic power on your own units, can the opponent make a Deny the Witch test to nullify it?
I read the rules and on DTW (page 26) it says you must select a unit that was the target of an enemy's psychic power in order to be able to make the roll.
Since that isnt the case when the enemy buffs his own units, I assume you cant make a DTW roll?
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/23 20:54:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/23 21:00:19
Subject: Deny the Witch roll question?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Read about three paragraphs further down where it starts with "If none of your units..." in bold type. It answers your question.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/23 21:04:39
Subject: Deny the Witch roll question?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Sir Arun wrote:If you cast a psychic power on your own units, can the opponent make a Deny the Witch test to nullify it?
I read the rules and on DTW (page 26) it says you must select a unit that was the target of an enemy's psychic power in order to be able to make the roll.
Since that isnt the case when the enemy buffs his own units, I assume you cant make a DTW roll?
This is another example of GW's horrible rule writing ability. You are correct that the rules say that you need to pick a unit that was the target of the enemy's psychic power so it wouldn't work except the rules explicitly state that you can make DTW rolls for blessings and conjurations albeit with no modifiers.
I believe the general consensus is to just ignore the part of picking an enemy unit that was targeted.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/23 21:07:32
Subject: Deny the Witch roll question?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Or you read further down the page and use the appropriate rules instead.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/23 21:35:16
Subject: Deny the Witch roll question?
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
It's not brilliantly worded, but it's one of the lesser issues in the Psychic rules...
The rules actually do cover this. One of the units that was targeted by the power makes the DtW attempt. If no unit was targeted, the opponent instead makes the roll, as opposed to the target unit.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/23 21:39:51
Subject: Deny the Witch roll question?
|
 |
Slashing Veteran Sword Bretheren
|
Well thats what I get for being an impatient sod. Thanks
It's pretty awesome though that GKs who have a ML3 Librarian with Staff can make DTW rolls on a 3+ if a psychic power is directed at them by a ML1 or ML2 psyker.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/23 21:41:23
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/24 07:19:58
Subject: Deny the Witch roll question?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Rerolling 1s as well
|
|
 |
 |
|