Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 02:00:31
Subject: Super heavies, can they assault what they did not shoot?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
If a super heavy fires one or more of its weapons, can it then assault a unit that it did not fire at?
I.e,
Super heavy fires 2 weapons, one at unit A, one at unit B, can it then assault unit C?
I ask because my friend seems to think it can assault an additional unit because other unit types have to fire all of there weapons at the same unit
|
We can slay the Tyranids on our worlds, blast their fleets from the space, grind their armies to torn and ruined fragments. But their hunger? That is beyond our ability to slay. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 02:07:37
Subject: Super heavies, can they assault what they did not shoot?
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
Hellraiser 1349 wrote:If a super heavy fires one or more of its weapons, can it then assault a unit that it did not fire at?
I.e,
Super heavy fires 2 weapons, one at unit A, one at unit B, can it then assault unit C?
I ask because my friend seems to think it can assault an additional unit because other unit types have to fire all of there weapons at the same unit
Ask him to show you where it says that can do that.
(He wont be able to, it does not exist within the ruleset).
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 02:22:23
Subject: Super heavies, can they assault what they did not shoot?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Nah didn't think so. Assumed the ability to shout multiple targets gave you the ability to charge multiple targets, not charge extra ones.
|
We can slay the Tyranids on our worlds, blast their fleets from the space, grind their armies to torn and ruined fragments. But their hunger? That is beyond our ability to slay. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 05:15:16
Subject: Super heavies, can they assault what they did not shoot?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
A more interesting question is if a superheavy walker abstains from firing one of his weapons, can he then charge into an ongoing combat (claming that his unfired gun is targeting a unit in that combat).
I think RAW no, but intent wise im not sure.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 05:37:42
Subject: Super heavies, can they assault what they did not shoot?
|
 |
Frenzied Berserker Terminator
|
Eihnlazer wrote:A more interesting question is if a superheavy walker abstains from firing one of his weapons, can he then charge into an ongoing combat (claming that his unfired gun is targeting a unit in that combat).
I think RAW no, but intent wise im not sure.
You have no permission to target the unit that is engaged in combat, so that reasoning makes no sense.
I see nothing to indicate that the intention is to allow a SHW to forego shooting just one of its weapons in order to allow it to break the rules. It's all or nothing.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/27 05:40:18
Subject: Super heavies, can they assault what they did not shoot?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
I believe even RAI that would be no. Technically any unit can assault something they did not shoot at, as shooting at something is not a requirement to charge it. The restriction is "If" they shoot they can only charge what they shot at. So a Super heavy can shoot at multiple units but has no rules saying it ignores other shooting/assaulting restrictions.
|
|
 |
 |
|