Switch Theme:

Drop Pods, Locator Beacons, and Measuring Distances  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




When I place my Drop Pods near another model with a locator beacon, how close do they have to be in order for them to not scatter? The rule says within 6". I have an opponent who believes it has to be completely within 6", but it's my understanding that when you're measuring distances between models, you measure the distance between their closest points on their base (if they have one) or their hull (for vehicles). Their interpretation seems to contradict this rule (as measuring completely within essentially means measuring to the Drop Pod's farthest point away in this case) and there are rules which specify "completely within".

Can anyone clarify?
   
Made in gb
Land Raider Pilot on Cruise Control





Englandia

Gazra wrote:
When I place my Drop Pods near another model with a locator beacon, how close do they have to be in order for them to not scatter? The rule says within 6". I have an opponent who believes it has to be completely within 6", but it's my understanding that when you're measuring distances between models, you measure the distance between their closest points on their base (if they have one) or their hull (for vehicles). Their interpretation seems to contradict this rule (as measuring completely within essentially means measuring to the Drop Pod's farthest point away in this case) and there are rules which specify "completely within".

Can anyone clarify?


Unless I am mistaken; within means just that: within.
It mentions nothing about being wholly within, so you don't have to be wholly within. There are rules that specifically calls out having to be wholly within, and this is not one of them

If I sound like I'm being a condescending butthole, I'm not. Read my reply as neutrally as possible, please and thank you. 
   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

I use an army that is brought in entirely by pods.. it's from point to point. Not within. Within would be stupid.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Except it is 'within'. As has been pointed out, as long as the closest points of the two models are 6" or less apart then you meet the qualifications of being within 6".

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Hellish Haemonculus






Boskydell, IL

 Ghaz wrote:
Except it is 'within'. As has been pointed out, as long as the closest points of the two models are 6" or less apart then you meet the qualifications of being within 6".


Indeed. I'm a veteran pod player, who loves using this to greatest advantage. Thoroughly been over this a couple of times over the years. If they meant the whole model had to be within 6" they would say 'wholly within' or 'entirely within.'

Welcome to the Freakshow!

(Leadership-shenanigans for Eldar of all types.) 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: