Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 10:01:50
Subject: Can the Relic be moved by a Monolith?
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
So I remember some shenanigans awhile back that said players would pick up the relic and a flyer would pick them up, then basically crash and burn. Because the flyer sends the unit into reserve, would the relic also go into reserve with them? Would that be considered some kind of 6" movement and force it to "burn a hole" through the vehicle?
**** IGNORE THIS PART ****
Or would you follow some kind of sequencing:
Night Scythe moves 6"
-> Relic causes Crash and Burn
-> Night Scythe is destroyed
-> Unit is sent into Reserves with the Relic
-> Relic is dropped by the unit or still controlled?
**** IGNORE THIS PART ****
Edit: So I reread the rule from book and it says if it was on a transport that caused the unit to drop the relic, place it 1" outside of any of the access points.[/color]
A second question:
If a unit arrives from reserves, this is considered the start of the turn.
Hypothetical scenario: Dark Angels player goes first, Necron goes second.
Dark Angels has terminator spam, I have a monolith and deathmarks + other things.
Turn 1, Deathwing Assault against my threats (who the feth goes for a monolith? waste of time)
Turn 1 him: Use Ethereal Interception to Deep Strike onto the Relic (pray for no scatter)
Because of the wording on The Relic you pick it up at the end of the movement phase -which means either players movement phase-
Assuming they live and don't fall back
Turn 1 me: Use Monolith to Eternity Gate the Deathmarks back over to his side of the table. This isn't considered going into reserves. They simply phase out from their current position and disembark from the safety of the monolith.
Is the relic going into reserve considered movement?
I know this sounds beardly but I was just sitting here thinking of this bored out of my mind.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/10/31 06:05:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 10:40:29
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
You cannot move the relic more than 6" per phase. At all.
Anything that would move it more than 6" drops it. Automatically Appended Next Post: You cannot move the relic more than 6" per phase. At all.
Anything that would move it more than 6" drops it.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/30 10:40:29
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 11:22:41
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
Stratford on avon
|
A bit of a tangent (but all in all related) assume i have the relic and i use GOI, scatter - mishap - placed in ongoing reserves.
What would happen? Does the relic stay where i GOI'd to? Or where i was originally?
Or it says 6" per phase so theoretically it can move 18" a turn so could i walk of the board (ongoing reserves).
So far we have played it that the relic stays where you end (so wont go off the board with you) but was wondering what RAW would dictate
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/10/30 11:24:19
Careful I have CDO it’s like OCD but in alphabetical order LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!!!!
Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot.
4000Pts
3000Pts
1000Pts
2000Pts
1500Pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 15:11:03
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
From 'The Relic'
"If the model is removed as a casualty, or is in any other way removed from the table - whether voluntary or otherwise - the Relic is dropped automatically and placed within 1" of the spot where the model last was." Embarkation is listed as the only exception to this.
Rules then go on to say dropping while embarked is placed with 1" of Access point. Access point for NS is the flyer base essentially (Invasion Beams).
So, NS crashes, unit goes into Reserves and relic is placed 1" from base of NS before it's removed.
GoI makes the unit drop it as soon as you leave the table. Unit won't have it when you land. It's placed 1" from where the model left the table.
Relic will not go into Reserves unless modified by future rules.
|
This message was edited 7 times. Last update was at 2014/10/30 15:16:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 15:35:52
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Water-Caste Negotiator
Stratford on avon
|
Ahhh theres that litte rule that i missed! haha
thanks will clear alot up (seeing as 4 of us missed it haha)
|
Careful I have CDO it’s like OCD but in alphabetical order LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!!!!
Make it idiot proof and someone will make a better idiot.
4000Pts
3000Pts
1000Pts
2000Pts
1500Pts |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 16:43:08
Subject: Re:Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Why would the nightsythe crash? The relic isnt in it, nor are the troops. If it is shot down nothing happens to the guys "embarked" in it since they arent really in it. So they arent moving the relic since they are not on the board.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 16:48:39
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
They are in the Night Scythe according to the rules. You're position is based on fluff.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 17:04:20
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The Rule for inversion beams, the thing which allows Units to Disembark / Embark onto this zooming flyer, has been modified by Errata to remove all references to Embarking. So how is the Relic wielding Unit getting onto the Night Scythe to begin with?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/10/30 17:54:18
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 18:03:49
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
JinxDragon wrote:The Rule for inversion beams, the thing which allows Units to Disembark / Embark onto this zooming flyer, has been modified by Errata to remove all references to Embarking.
So how is the Relic wielding Unit getting onto the Night Scythe to begin with?
Wow, hadn't even realized this is an issue. Certainly interesting that this is indeed the case. Guess the Nightscythe issue isn't even possible.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 18:07:08
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
So this thread can go to bed now since its a non issue right?
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 18:23:06
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Thing that annoys me is the lack of copy and paste from the Frequently Asked Questions...
I could type out the errata but....
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 19:59:17
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
JinxDragon wrote:The Rule for inversion beams, the thing which allows Units to Disembark / Embark onto this zooming flyer, has been modified by Errata to remove all references to Embarking.
So how is the Relic wielding Unit getting onto the Night Scythe to begin with?
I see where it says they can disembark, but I also see where it says in the physical codex where if they wish to embark, they can, as long as they are within 2" of the Nightscythe's base. Codex>BRB
"Access Points: Treat the wormhole gateway on the underside of the Night Scythe as its access point. For the purpose of embarking or disembarking from a Night Scythe, measure to and from the model's base. For example, modes wishing to emarking within a Night Scythe can do so if at the end of their movement, all models of the unit are within 2" of the Night Scythe's base" Pg. 51 This entry wasn't removed. Seems like permission, at least HYWPI at my LGS
Anyway, you guys clearly didn't read the thread all the way, you just responded to the title. I already read the part on the relic page where it says going off the table would result in the relic being dropped. However: The monolith simply puts you in front of the monolith, you don't leave the table, you don't go into reserves. This was my new primary question.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/30 20:02:13
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 20:02:03
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Whacked,
It is Errata for the Codex.
As in it re-writes what the Codex says....
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 20:02:43
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
JinxDragon wrote:Whacked,
It is Errata for the Codex.
As in it re-writes what the Codex says....
It added Invasion Beams as a special rule, it did not take access points away. So what is your point?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 20:06:58
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Whacked wrote:JinxDragon wrote:Whacked, It is Errata for the Codex. As in it re-writes what the Codex says.... It added Invasion Beams as a special rule, it did not take access points away. So what is your point? To start the whole Access point line is removed and changed to 1 (the base of the model) so your whole embarking line is gone. Necron FAQ page two second column near the bottom. Your relic shenanigans is dead in the water bro.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/10/30 20:08:25
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 20:07:35
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The Night Scythes current 'access point' entry within the errata'ed Codex reads:
1 (the base of the model)
Where in that sentence do you get permission to Embark onto a zooming flyer?
|
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 21:27:37
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
As Jinx said, the issue is embarking on Zooming Flyer.
Regarding Monolith, don't see an issue with using it to move that unit.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/10/30 21:33:24
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/30 23:08:15
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Whacked wrote:JinxDragon wrote:Whacked,
It is Errata for the Codex.
As in it re-writes what the Codex says....
It added Invasion Beams as a special rule, it did not take access points away. So what is your point?
Please provide permission to embark on a zooming flyer. Page and graph.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/31 02:36:19
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Freaky Flayed One
|
Regardless of the Night Scythe rules, which all of you failed to read the initial post. (Because I don't care about it anymore - really, read the post next time before you comment) The question of the thread was on the monoliths. Don't go off-topic anymore please.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/31 02:38:49
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
The post that you've edited three times and the subject of the thread is "Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?"
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/31 04:21:08
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
As for Monoliths, which are a curious beast in and of itself, has a concern with the poorly chosen words of: The Unit Immediately phases out from its current position and 'disembarks' from the Monolith's portal. I would like to take this moment to point out the quotation marks around disembarks is not something I added to the Rule quote, the Rule itself refers to this embarking with quotation marks. This requires us to do something with the Models but what that something is can not be very well defined, so some players would assume that it is 'fluff.' A noticeable number of others will insist that it is requirements to remove the Models from the Table in preparation to Disembark them. So we would end up with yet another 50/50 as to what 'Authors Intent' would be. Either way, I am more interested in the Rules as Written. The quotations marks around disembark are not much of a problem as the next sentence goes on to say this ... but the move is otherwise treated exactly as disembarking.... While Count as Rules are some of my favourite, this one allowing this movement to be legal if we follow Disembarking instructions, I actually want to bring one's attention back to the underlined portion of the Rule... the move. The act of taking the Model from it's current position and placing it as per Disembarking instructions is movement in and of itself, because the Rule granting us permission to do this unique act refers to the act as Movement. If it forcefully moves the Model carrying the Relic more then 6 Inches, it would cause the Relic to be dropped.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/10/31 04:42:36
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/31 04:37:14
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
No. Didn't bother reading for or against.
Relic cannot move >6".
Zooming flier cannot intentionally move less than 18"
Regardless of arguments "but what if the relic is within 6" of the edge and then the warriors embark... And then... And then...
No.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/10/31 04:41:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/31 06:13:53
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Legendary Master of the Chapter
|
Whacked wrote:Regardless of the Night Scythe rules, which all of you failed to read the initial post. (Because I don't care about it anymore - really, read the post next time before you comment) The question of the thread was on the monoliths. Don't go off-topic anymore please.
You are kidding me right?
we are off topic because you edited the initial post because you dont care? i think it may be friendship triangle time
|
Unit1126PLL wrote: Scott-S6 wrote:And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.
Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/31 06:19:41
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
Desubot wrote:Whacked wrote:Regardless of the Night Scythe rules, which all of you failed to read the initial post. (Because I don't care about it anymore - really, read the post next time before you comment) The question of the thread was on the monoliths. Don't go off-topic anymore please.
You are kidding me right?
we are off topic because you edited the initial post because you dont care? i think it may be friendship triangle time
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/31 08:18:25
Subject: Can the Relic go into reserve via Necron Night Scythe?
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
Whacked wrote:Regardless of the Night Scythe rules, which all of you failed to read the initial post. (Because I don't care about it anymore - really, read the post next time before you comment) The question of the thread was on the monoliths. Don't go off-topic anymore please.
1) dont edit initial posts and expect people to just reread them, thats unlikely given how this forum operates
2) the trhread title still talks about night scythes
3) dont get all huffy because you changed your mind half way through when told you couldnt embark on a night scythe, and the rules were repeatedly pointed out to you before you would accept it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/10/31 08:24:17
Subject: Re:Can the Relic be moved by a Monolith?
|
 |
[DCM]
Et In Arcadia Ego
|
Seems a somewhat redundant discussion really.
|
The poor man really has a stake in the country. The rich man hasn't; he can go away to New Guinea in a yacht. The poor have sometimes objected to being governed badly; the rich have always objected to being governed at all
We love our superheroes because they refuse to give up on us. We can analyze them out of existence, kill them, ban them, mock them, and still they return, patiently reminding us of who we are and what we wish we could be.
"the play's the thing wherein I'll catch the conscience of the king, |
|
 |
 |
|