This rule question has three parts.
First, can i start a dreadclaw on the skyshield if the skyshield is upgraded with the "ready for takeoff" rule?
Relevant rules:
Ready for Takeoff:
A Sky shield Landing Pad can be upgraded to have this special rule. When deploying your army , you can deploy one of your Flyers with the Hover type on top of each of your Sky shield Landing Pads that has this upgrade, even though Flyers normally have to start the game in reserves. Flyers that deploy in this way start the game hovering and cannot Zoom in the first game turn.
and the Dreadclaw's Drop pod assualt:
A Chaos Dreadclaw, and any unit it transports, must always be held in reserve and always enters play using the Deep Strike rules, and counts as a Drop Pod for the wider use of the Drop Pod Assualt rule for the army.
Keep in mind that the Dreadclaw is a vehicle with the Flyer and Hover type
I would think that the drop pod would be able to start on the board, as the skyshield's rule specifically states that "you can deploy one of your Flyers with the Hover type on top of each of your Sky shield Landing Pads that has this upgrade, even though Flyers normally have to start the game in reserves" which supersedes the Drop Pod Assault special rule.
Secondly, assuming it were to be the case that i could start one of my drop pods on the skyshield landing pad, could i then enter more pods than the usual half rounding up?
Say i have two dreadclaws, and one skyshield with the ready for takeoff special rule. Could i start one on the skyshield, and the other enter play using the drop pod assault?
Here are the relevant rules from the drop pod assault:
At the beginning of the controlling player's first player turn, they must choose half of their Drop Pod units to make a Drop Pod Assault. These units arrive on their controlling player's first turn.
So, I would choose half of my drop pod units [the drop pod that is still in reserve] to make a drop pod assault. This would then enter play using the deep strike special rules.
Third, and finally, the positioning of the skyshield's shield during the first player turn.
Here are the rules for the positioning of the landing pad's configuration:
At the beginning of the Movement phase, before rolling for Reserves, a model in base contact with a Sky shield Landing Pad can change its configuration from shielded to unfurled (or vice versa).
As well, keep in mind this relevant rule from the
BRB
During your game, you may encounter rules that say that an action or event happens ‘at
the start of your turn’. These are always resolved before your Movement phase.
So, having noted that, could I drop in with a drop pod onto the unfurled skyshield on the first turn and then change the configuration to shielded? The Drop Pods that arrive via drop pod assault arrive at "the beginning of the player's first player turn", while the skyshield changes it's configuration "at the beginning of the movement phase, before reserve rolls are made" meaning that the drop pods that arrive on the first turn arrive before the beginning of the movement phase, before reserve rolls are made.
I think this one has the least discussion associated with it, but that's just my opinon.
Please let me know your opinions on all of these rules, and please speficy which rule query you are addressing!
Thanks,
Thisisnotpancho