Switch Theme:

Templates target ruling  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Afaik, the rule regarding templates and the requirement to cover as many/much of the target unit as possible hasn't changed. I don't have my rulebook handy, could someone verify that please?

Based on the above rule still being in effect, is it ever possible for a template fired from a Flying Hive Tyrant be placed in such a way that 2 Wave serpents, sitting directly next to one another, could be hit with the same template?

Being able to pull off this tactic is much more viable if this rule no longer exists as it once was in 6th Ed.

Also, would the same limitations be imposed on a Tyrannofex shooting it's torrent Acid Spray? Being torrent gives it much more flexibility, so again, if this rule still exists, darn. If they've done away with it, cool!
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




It has not changed. You must cover as much of the target vehicle as possible with a template weapon.

Yes, make sure you are only JUST able to cover the further away WS, nominate that as the target, with the other WS in between. Voila, you hit both.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





So in the example, with a 7" teardrop template, I would need to position myself at roughly 6-6.5" away? While still maintaining 1" away from the intervening Wave Serpent?

If I remember correctly, a Wave Serpent is roughly 4.5" wide. So that would mean to me that my opponent would have to have the Serpents 1" or less away from each other AT MINIMUM...

Also, because of AdLance needing to stay close together, could I do the same to the Knights if all variables fall into place right?
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

roxor08 wrote:
So in the example, with a 7" teardrop template, I would need to position myself at roughly 6-6.5" away?
No, you don't need to move the model to hit as much of the target as possible. You move where you wish.

But when you fire (from your chosen position) you must cover as much of the target as possible.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: