Switch Theme:

Snikrot rules clarification.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Numberless Necron Warrior




UK

In the Ork codex, Snikrot's ambush rule only applies if no other ICs have joined his Kommando unit. However there is no mention of any IC restrictions in the 'sneaky gitz' rule in the Waagh Gazhkhul supplement for his formation. Does this mean that ICs can join the kommandos if they (the kommandos) are being taken as part of the formation and those ICs will also benefit from the rerolling of cover saves?

Im basically thinking about the formation and adding in some Powerklaw Warbosses or maybe a Painboy, and wondering how doable it is. (I realize these guys dont have stealth, so wont get shrouded).

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/11/09 02:21:03


 
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

Honestly can't see anything preventing this.
   
Made in gb
Numberless Necron Warrior




UK

another question i forgot to ask is "if im playing a mission where nightfighting could happen in turns 2,3 or 4, or if a Solar Pulse was activated giving everyone stealth - A: would the ICs have this 'stealth' turned into Shrouded? and B: would the kommandos get stealth & shrouded or just shrouded?

 
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





Nothing about stealth lets you turn it into shrouded
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

 CrownAxe wrote:
Nothing about stealth lets you turn it into shrouded
Snikrots ambush rule does.

Bear in mind you only need one model in the unit with Stealth or Shrouded and the whole unit gains the benefit.

If their Stealth has been changed to Shrouded due to Snikrots Ambush, and then you gain it due to NightFighting, you'd end up with both Stealth and Shrouded.

Remember the Ambush rule only applies to the squad Snikrots is in, not the other two.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/09 03:14:01


 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





Where are you guys seeing that Snikrots rule for IC doesnt take precedence?

You still use his profile from the Ork Codex, so the rule would still be there.

The Sneaky Gitz special rule just give a clarification on the formation not on redoing Snikrots profile.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

It is in the Formation itself:
All Units in this Formation move on from any table edge when they arrive from Reserves.
- Sneaky Gitz, Boss Snikrot's Red Skull Kommandos.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in im
Nasty Nob on Warbike with Klaw





Liverpool

As above, you're not using Ambust to arrive on the table, but the Sneaky Gitz rule.

Also the part of Ambush concerning stealth/shrouded doesn't seem to be effected by having an IC in the unit.
   
Made in us
Mekboy Hammerin' Somethin'





Sedona, Arizona

Worst-comes-to-worst, you can definitely not IC's into Kommando units other than Snikrot's and bring them on.

   
Made in us
Trustworthy Shas'vre



california

Could always do what tau does. The ic doesn't join the unit the unit joins the ic. They pull this stuff all the time
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

Pain4Pleasure wrote:
Could always do what tau does. The ic doesn't join the unit the unit joins the ic. They pull this stuff all the time


...what? Unless the unit is composed entirely of ICs, units do not have permission to join other units.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Indeed,
The one trickery with Joining that the 'Tau Does' actually exploits the fact the Unit being joined does not join the Independent Character.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






State of Jefferson

Jovial Jew and Jinx Lizard...

I think Pain was referring to uninformed Tau players playing ovesa...
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

O'vesa does so by exploiting the fact Joining is a one-way action.

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






State of Jefferson

do whut? BAO FAQs linked below (HIWPI)... no ovesa star in the classic sense. Page 12. Maybe we're saying the same thing?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B4VC3WZFH6Hnek1leHN4anRncDg/edit?usp=sharing&pli=1


PS sorry for the hijack....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/13 19:09:57


 
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

The Frequently Asked Question you linked to is not an official source of errata, it exists so a tournament can close a loophole they believe was not intended and extends only to events run but this group. That loophole might or might not be intended, we simply do not know because O'vesa is the only Monstrous Creature with the Independent Character Special Rule that can freely join other Units. The Authors have not addressed it either way by official errata, which will be found on the Black Library, so we do not have grounds to forbid the Joining.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/13 19:39:53


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan






State of Jefferson

Right, Jinx. I gotchya. Just HIWPI. Don't like it, but .... the dude abides...



You know I take comfort in just knowing that someone has closed the loopholes....

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/14 05:22:09


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: