Switch Theme:

I'm confused on grav chute insertion.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





I've heard two different answers.
I know about the each model must pass a dangerous terrain test. And if one model can't be placed the unit is destroyed.
But where my answer are in what constitutes a model not being placed. One person says its even if one dies from dangerous terrain. Another tells me that some can die from dangerous terrain....it only counts if they scatter and it causes a mishap....then the unit is destroyed.
Since I keep getting both answers I figured I'd ask you guys.
   
Made in ca
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I am away from the book, I normally review the interactions before I post, but to my knowledge one would need to Resolve the placement before tanking the Dangerous Terrain tests.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/11/12 19:51:41


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





The person that thinks you loose the entire squad just because you fail 1 dangerous terrain check (and saving throw) is living in fantasy la la land. Deep strike the squad and place all models, then take the dangerous terrain checks. That is the way you do it when you move jump troops into ruins and assault with bikes, why would it be any different with a deep strike.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/12 20:14:47


 
   
Made in gb
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





The model is already placed once it takes a Dangerous Terrain test. If it passed the test, then it would be legally placed, and therefore the unit could in fact be placed.

The unit can only not be placed if it scatters into impassable terrain or an enemy unit.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
wtnind wrote:
The person that thinks you loose the entire squad just because you fail 1 dangerous terrain check (and saving throw) is living in fantasy la la land.


This person just wants an excuse to not have Scions turn up on his front door

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/12 20:13:49


Death Korps of Krieg Siege Army 1500 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





OK cool...thanks. His wording was "that model died wright?....then it can be placed...their all dead". Felt a little cheap
   
Made in gb
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!





Explain to him that the model was placed, after which it died from dangerous terrain. You can't die without being placed on the board, after all!

Death Korps of Krieg Siege Army 1500 
   
Made in us
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator





I just asked a relative question a day ago about the similarly worded Skies of Fury rule for SM Stormravens, and I am pretty convinced that a Misplaced result, from DS Mishap would still allow your models to be placed, since they are deployed regularly, just by your opponent.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: