Switch Theme:

Blood Angels: Death Company Dread Naughts; Objective Secured?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Been Around the Block




I recently acquired a blood angels army, and I'm not entirely certain about a rules interpretation I've come across.

Death Company have the Black Rage special rule, which makes them non-scoring. D.C. Dread Naughts, on the other hand, do not, and there is nothing in the errata that I can find that says otherwise; So, they are scoring units.
However, I want to know if they are objective secured.

They are listed as a troops choice in the army section. The person who gave me the army said that you can purchase one without taking up a force-org. slot for every five D.C. you purchase.
That's not what it says, though.
The exact rule says that you are allowed to purchase a D.C. Dread Naught for every five D.C. you have, that is true, but it does not say anywhere that they do not take up a force-org. slot. So, from what I can tell, they are a troops choice that has a restriction on how many you can take based off the number of D.C. you have in the army. Being a troops choice, if they were in a bound army, that would also make them objective secured.

Is that right, or am I missing something?
   
Made in us
Auspicious Daemonic Herald





You are correct. The person who gave you the army is wrong.

It's worth pointing out that having a bound army isn't what gives troops Objective Secured. It's being in a detachment that gives troops ObjSec (like a Combined Arms or Allied detachment) that does it.
   
Made in gb
Death-Dealing Devastator



Essex, UK

Yes, as are their drop pods should you take them, as are the Death Company Marines' drop pods should you take them also.
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot






Interesting note. The Death Company themselves have Objective Secured as well, they just don't score therefore it doesn't matter
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Mulletdude wrote:
Interesting note. The Death Company themselves have Objective Secured as well, they just don't score therefore it doesn't matter


Actually, it does. It prevents ObSec units from scoring.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/21 15:31:35


Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: