Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/24 13:56:53
Subject: Charging the occupants after wrecking their transport?
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
UK
|
Yesterday i was gaming with my new dark eldar army against some tyranids and my opponent wrecked one of my raiders with his hive tyrant and then insisted he was gonna charge the occupants who'd just got out. I said it was a different squad and therefore he couldn't but he argued it and I let him anyway.
After I looked through the rulebook and couldn't find anything on this topic.
So my question is, can you charge the occupants of a transport with the model that just shot at and wrecked the transport they were in?
Thanks!
|
"That's how a Luna Wolf fights."
"If you can't keep up, go and join the Death Guard"
"It had often been said that Space Marines knew no fear, but when Angron charged, he ran" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/24 14:05:51
Subject: Charging the occupants after wrecking their transport?
|
 |
Rampaging Carnifex
|
The rule you're looking for should be in the Transports section.
Either way, you should ask him to show you the rule if he is certain it exists.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/24 14:16:06
Subject: Charging the occupants after wrecking their transport?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
Zimko wrote:Either way, you should ask him to show you the rule if he is certain it exists.
The rulebook's layout is not great, so sometimes I am 100% certain of a rule, but can't easily find it. The OP's case is a perfect example of that - as soon as I saw the title, I knew what he was talking about, but I'm having a difficult time finding it in the rulebook (I know it's in there somewhere). I do think you need to trust your opponent somewhat if he's very certain, but be sure to verify after the game is over.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/24 14:16:50
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/24 14:20:44
Subject: Charging the occupants after wrecking their transport?
|
 |
Long-Range Land Speeder Pilot
|
Short answer, yes they can.
A above its under transport vehilces and effects on assengers I belive (I dont have th BRB to hand i'm at work), but this is one if the rule changes in 7th ed, as a dedicated transport takes on the role of its ocupants, and there for is part of the same unit.
|
My own chapoter, The Broken Swords. Almost a full company.
1500
Check out my painting page on Facebook. Wartable Painting. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/24 14:28:41
Subject: Charging the occupants after wrecking their transport?
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
UK
|
Nevermind, i've found it, its the very last sentence in the transport section. p82 of my small rulebook. Its tucked away in the bottom right of the page.
And yes, it says you can charge the disembarked occupants.
Thanks guys
|
"That's how a Luna Wolf fights."
"If you can't keep up, go and join the Death Guard"
"It had often been said that Space Marines knew no fear, but when Angron charged, he ran" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/24 15:07:34
Subject: Re:Charging the occupants after wrecking their transport?
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
i would like to see what rulebook you are using, i havent seen a small rulebook for 7th edition....as far as i know, if you destroy a transport, the unit that destroyed the transport can not assault the unit that gets out on the same turn.... now in 6th edition i believe that was a rule, but they changed it in 7th edition...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/24 15:24:03
Subject: Re:Charging the occupants after wrecking their transport?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Minneapolis, MN
|
Varnos wrote:i would like to see what rulebook you are using, i havent seen a small rulebook for 7th edition
The 7th edition Dark Vengeance box has a small paperback rulebook. eBay it, it's a lot more handy than the hardback. I'm pretty sure the page numbers match the hardback exactly, as the pages are not layed out any different, just shrunken.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/24 15:24:53
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/24 15:31:35
Subject: Re:Charging the occupants after wrecking their transport?
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Varnos wrote:i would like to see what rulebook you are using, i havent seen a small rulebook for 7th edition...
There was a small rulebook releases with the Stormclaw set, Dark Vengeance and there's the small hardcover rulebook.
Varnos wrote:as far as i know, if you destroy a transport, the unit that destroyed the transport can not assault the unit that gets out on the same turn.... now in 6th edition i believe that was a rule, but they changed it in 7th edition...
You're wrong. Please see the section Taffy17 mentioned in his previous post ('Effects Of Damage On Passengers', last sentence).
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/24 18:05:28
Subject: Re:Charging the occupants after wrecking their transport?
|
 |
Member of a Lodge? I Can't Say
UK
|
Varnos wrote:i would like to see what rulebook you are using, i havent seen a small rulebook for 7th edition....as far as i know, if you destroy a transport, the unit that destroyed the transport can not assault the unit that gets out on the same turn.... now in 6th edition i believe that was a rule, but they changed it in 7th edition...
I got my rulebook in the Stormclaw box. I think its the same as the Dark Vengeance one. And its hard to find but the sentence is there. Like I said its the last one in the transports section after effects on occupants.
|
"That's how a Luna Wolf fights."
"If you can't keep up, go and join the Death Guard"
"It had often been said that Space Marines knew no fear, but when Angron charged, he ran" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/24 18:33:29
Subject: Charging the occupants after wrecking their transport?
|
 |
Krazed Killa Kan
|
Ghaz and everyone, I've been playing this wrong myself. Just to clarify RAW:
"If a transport is destroyed by a SHOOTING attack, ANY unit that shot it that turn can, if allowed, charge the now disembarked passengers."
(emphasis mine obviously)
That's kinda cool, I never knew this rule and was playing it differently maybe like 5th or 6th. Ghaz.... old dog.... new trick! Lol. Thanks for the clarification.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/24 20:31:07
Subject: Charging the occupants after wrecking their transport?
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Godeth, Dedicated Transports are never members of the Unit they where purchased for, the Rules can not function if they where considered as such. The reason why Disembarked Models can be Charged in these situations is because a Rule grants permission to charge... even though it is a different Unit.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/11/24 20:42:50
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/24 20:48:48
Subject: Charging the occupants after wrecking their transport?
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
doktor_g, in 5th edition only the unit that destroyed the transport (or did not shoot/shot disembarked unit after), could charge the occupants. In 6th edition, it was changed to any unit that shot the transport that turn.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
|