Switch Theme:

Chronometron & the Veil of Darkness  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Numberless Necron Warrior




UK

OK, so, I'm sorry if this has been asked before, but I've asked around and opinion is divided on this, so I thought I'd come to dakkadakka to get the rules throw-down on this issue.

This question is a two parter so i will split it up that way:

For both of these examples let's suppose the unit in question is a Deathmark squad, with two crypteks attached to it. One cryptek has a Chronometron, the other has a Veil of Darkness.

Q1) The deathmark squad is already deployed on the board, and instead of moving they choose to activate the veil of darkness. Can the chronometron be used to reroll either A) both of the 2d6 involved in the scatter, B) one of the two d6 involved in the scatter, or C) neither.

Q2) The deathmark squad is in reserves and chooses to enter the battlefield and deploy via deepstrike using VoD (please correct me if im wrong and this cant be done). Can the chronometron in this situation be used to reroll A,B or C above?


To me, the debate here seems to be whether a '2d6 roll' can count as two 'd6 roll's. And if it can, whether or not the rules regarding rerolls force both to be rerolled because part of it is being rerolled.


---

Bonus question: can the chronometron be used to reroll reserve rolls for the unit it is a part of? (do reserves get rolled for during a phase? and does such a roll count as one of the "unit's d6 rolls"?)

______

WORDINGS-

Chronometron- A model with this can reroll one of his d6 rolls each phase. If the bearer is in a unit, this ability can be used to instead reroll one of the unit's d6 rerolls each phase.

Veil of Darkness- A cryptek with a veil of darkness can use it in its movement phase instead of moving normally. The cyptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediately deepstrike back onto the battlefield. The Vod cannot be used if the cryptek or his unit are locked in combat.

Scatter (brb, p12)- Follow this procedure: Place the object... Roll a scatter dice and 2d6 to determine the direction and distance of scatter in inches. ...

Reroll (brb, p11)- ...If you re-roll a 2d6 or 3d6 roll, you must reroll all of the dice, not just some of them, unless the rules specify otherwise. ...

Arriving by Deepstrike (brb, p162)- First place one model from the unit anywhere on the table, in the position you would like it to arrive, and roll for scatter to determine the model's final position. ...

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/24 15:59:48


 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

If Veil of Darkness or any other rule does not convey the 'Deep Strike' rule then they can not arrive from reserve via Deep Strike.

Based on the wording, I believe you can reroll a single d6 from any of those options.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Deathmarks have the DS rule.

IMHO, you can only reroll one of the D6 (since the rule says one). I get that the brb says to reroll all of the 2d6 or 3d6 if you have to reroll them but I think this is more specific rule > general rule.

Bonus- I don t see why not, you are re-rolling that units d6 and in the movement phase

~2k
~4k

kill team 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




Zimko wrote:
If Veil of Darkness or any other rule does not convey the 'Deep Strike' rule then they can not arrive from reserve via Deep Strike.

Based on the wording, I believe you can reroll a single d6 from any of those options.


You can use the Veil of Darkness to move onto the battlefield from Reserves. So instead of moving, you deepstrike somewhere.
   
Made in us
The Hive Mind





The ability to reroll a d6 is not the same as the ability to reroll part of a 2d6 roll.

My beautiful wife wrote:Trucks = Carnifex snack, Tanks = meals.
 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





Fredericksburg, Virginia

col_impact wrote:
Zimko wrote:
If Veil of Darkness or any other rule does not convey the 'Deep Strike' rule then they can not arrive from reserve via Deep Strike.

Based on the wording, I believe you can reroll a single d6 from any of those options.


You can use the Veil of Darkness to move onto the battlefield from Reserves. So instead of moving, you deepstrike somewhere.


Sure that can work. The unit already has Deep Strike as it turns out so I don't think it matters.

6000+
2500
2000
2000
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






To deep strike all "models" have to have the deep strike rule not an ability to do so.


I dont recall the tek having deepstrike so the starting in reserves probably wont be happening.

as for the D6s it doesn't matter for specific>brb. when you MUST reroll all dice if you have the ability to reroll a roll of 2d6 vs you MAY reroll a single D6, you clearly cannot complete the function.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Desubot wrote:
To deep strike all "models" have to have the deep strike rule not an ability to do so.


I dont recall the tek having deepstrike so the starting in reserves probably wont be happening.

as for the D6s it doesn't matter for specific>brb. when you MUST reroll all dice if you have the ability to reroll a roll of 2d6 vs you MAY reroll a single D6, you clearly cannot complete the function.


The Cryptek is a character

Spoiler:
Most characters are fielded in units from the start of the game, and represent squad
leaders, such as a Space Marine Veteran Sergeant. They have their own profile, but do not
have a separate entry. They are effectively just another trooper in their unit, with
enhanced characteristics and perhaps a wider selection of weapons and wargear choices.


If he joins the Deathmarks, he is effectively just another Deathmark.

Furthermore, a Cryptek with a Veil can join a unit of warriors and use the Veil to deepstrike when he moves onto the battlefied from Reserves.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/24 18:26:44


 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Ah ok about the deathmark.

But how would you do so with warriors off reserves if they start in reserves when they are not on the table to be removed for deep striking in the first place.




 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




 Desubot wrote:
Ah ok about the deathmark.

But how would you do so with warriors off reserves if they start in reserves when they are not on the table to be removed for deep striking in the first place.





The VeilTek uses the veil to move onto the battlefield.

Spoiler:

A Cryptek with a veil of darkness can use it in its Movement phase instead of moving normally. The Cryptek and his unit are removed from the tabletop and immediately Deep Strike back onto the battlefield. The veil of darkness cannot be used if the Cryptek or his unit are locked in combat.


Spoiler:
Moving On From Reserve
When a Reserves unit arrives, it must move onto the table from the controlling player’s
table edge. Measure the model’s move from the edge of the table, as if they had been
positioned just off the board in the previous turn.


The pen-ultimate FAQ for 6th edition clarified the interaction

Spoiler:
Q: Can a veil of darkness be used instead of moving onto the board
when a unit arrives from reserve? (p84)
A: Yes.


   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Previous FAQ shouldn't really be used as damning evidence as gak can change for nearly no reason.

BUT I did miss what you where getting at so i will needa redact that point. however to the ops question i still dont think you can sit there and reroll one of your scatter D6


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

The 6th edition Codex Necrons FAQ also had the following:

Q: Can a unit of Deathmarks with an attached model from a Royal Court Deep Strike? (p90)
A: No. Every model in a unit must have the Deep Strike special rule for it to do so.

So a Cryptek with the Veil attached to a squad of Deathmarks could not Deep Strike with them, but they could use his Veil when arriving on the board

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Ahhhhh

please lets avoid the headache of old FAQS that no longer exist please thx.

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Then we're stuck with no answer to some questions that the old FAQs answered.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Numberless Necron Warrior




UK

So is the consensus then 1 of the 2d6?

 
   
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter






Non of the 2d6s as you broke the game if you rerolled 1 of those. you are stuck on a may vs must not a codex > BRB

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/25 21:33:23


 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

No, as a D6 is distinctly different from a 2D6, etc. (see the second paragraph of 'Re-rolls' in the main rulebook).

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: