Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/28 12:08:02
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
How would this work?
Do you disembark and then terror from the deep or do you just disembark?
|
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/28 13:01:17
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
The Mawloc is not deep striking
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/28 16:35:30
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
So what is the Mawloc doing?
Also, the first rule says 'when a Mawloc arrives from deepstrike reserves, it can deepstrike ...', which it does imo.
|
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/28 16:50:27
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Confessor Of Sins
|
The Mawloc only disembarks. Happyjew is correct.
|
DA:80-S+G+M+B++I-Pw40k01++D+++A+++WD100R++T(T)DM+
Roronoa Zoro wrote:When the world shoves you around, you just gotta stand up and shove back. It's not like somebody's gonna save you if you start babbling excuses. - Bring on the hardship. It's preferred in a path of carnage. Manchu wrote:
It's like you take a Space Marine and say "what could make him cooler?" Instead of adding more super-genetic-psycho-organic modification, you take it all away. You have a regular human left in power armor and all the armies of hell at the gates. And she doesn't even flinch. Pure. Badass. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/28 18:42:28
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Okay. Fine by me, would've been stupidly OP anyway. :-P
|
You don't have to be happy when you lose, just don't make winning the condition of your happiness. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/28 21:26:20
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
Sorry, how has it not Arrived from Deep Strike Reserve?
The Unit and its transport was in reserves, and they have both arrived VIA Deep Strike.
Am I missing something o.O?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/28 22:39:17
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Infiltrating Prowler
|
Bloodhorror wrote:Sorry, how has it not Arrived from Deep Strike Reserve?
The Unit and its transport was in reserves, and they have both arrived VIA Deep Strike.
Am I missing something o.O?
The transport arrived by deep strike. The Mawloc disembarks from a unit that arrived from reserve. Technically speaking, they both come from reserve but only the transport enters via deep strike.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/28 22:42:54
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
So... Regardless of how the Transport arrives, the unit inside always arrives from reserves, not deep strike reserves?
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/28 23:15:19
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Quite simply, Mawloc comes up from the ground, Tyrannocyte comes out of the sky.
Terror from the sky.
Or maybe the Mawloc gets out mid flight. But would probably die on impact.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/28 23:37:32
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Tunneling Trygon
|
leaping out with his mouth wide open and landing on a squad of dudes would be pretty immense....
|
Grimtuff wrote: GW want the full wrath of their Gestapo to come down on this new fangled Internet and it's free speech.
A Town Called Malus wrote: Draigo is a Mat Ward creation. They don't follow the same rules as everyone else. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/28 23:41:52
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Sneaky Lictor
|
Catching flys on the way down
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/28 23:49:49
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Bloodhorror wrote:Sorry, how has it not Arrived from Deep Strike Reserve?
The Unit and its transport was in reserves, and they have both arrived VIA Deep Strike.
Am I missing something o.O?
It has arrived from Deep Strike Reserves. However, while implied, embarked models do not Deep Strike.
Even if RAW this were legal, as a Nid player I wouldn't attempt it. Sometimes, you do need to apply common sense when gaming.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/29 00:14:40
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
So now DE can deep strike raiders and assault out of them because the passengers didn't arrive via deep strike?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/29 00:17:02
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
NecronLord3 wrote:So now DE can deep strike raiders and assault out of them because the passengers didn't arrive via deep strike?
No, because they still arrived from Reserves.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/29 00:19:18
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
No they arrived by disembarking from an open topped transport.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/29 00:20:48
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And they and that vehicle arrived from Reserves.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/29 00:24:30
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
So too would a Mawloc arriving in a Tyrannocyte.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/29 00:30:15
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
The Mawloc is arriving from Deep Strike Reserves, however, it is not Deep Striking (which is part of the requirements for TftD).
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/29 00:46:28
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Pyro Pilot of a Triach Stalker
|
P.162 clearly states that arriving via Deep Strike is some times called arriving from Deep Strike Reserve.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/29 00:47:47
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Happyjew wrote:
The Mawloc is arriving from Deep Strike Reserves, however, it is not Deep Striking (which is part of the requirements for TftD).
Not sure if it matters in the particulars of this discussion, but I don't think the Mawloc is technically arriving from Deep Strike Reserves when it arrives on a transport that Deep Strikes. For a unit to be arriving from Deep Strike Reserves, that unit itself must be designated as Deep Striking when placed in reserves, i.e. " When placing the unit in Reserve, you must tell your opponent that it will be arriving by Deep Strike".
So you could put the Mawloc in Deep Strike Reserves by saying the Mawloc is Deep Striking in which case the Mawloc rolls separately to come in from Deep Strike Reserves and Deep Strikes separately from the Tyrannocyte.
If the Mawloc comes in as a passenger on the Deep Striking Tyrannocyte, the Tyrannocyte is technically coming in from Deep Strike Reserves and the Mawloc is coming in technically from Reserves.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/29 00:48:41
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/29 01:03:16
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
There's some miscommunication going on here between necron lord and happyjew. NecronLord, here's is the order of events that happyjew is describing to you: - Tyrannocite and Mawloc are being held in deep strike reserve - The Tyrannocite arrives from deep strike reserve via deep strike. - The Mawloc arrives from deep strike reserve embarked on the Tyrannocite. He does not Deep Strike. - Since the Mawloc's template only works when he has arrives via deep strike (not just from deep strike reserve) he is not allowed to use the template and disembarks normally from the tyrannocite. In your example: - A squad of wyches with a raider is placed in deep strike reserve - The raider arrives from deep strike reserve via deep strike. - the wyches arrive from deep strike reserve embarked on the raider. They do not deep strike. - The wyches are disallowed from charging because they have just arrived from reserve. (arriving from ANY type of reserves disallows charging) Edit - I believe col_impact is correct, the transports would be placed in deep strike reserve, the units they are transporting would simply be in reserve. You are only required to inform your opponent that the squad is embarked on the transport and that the transport will be deep striking.
|
This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2014/11/29 01:10:20
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/29 09:46:11
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Never Forget Isstvan!
|
any model that is inside a transport is described as being "removed from the table" until it disembarks. this is something to remember for this discussion.
|
JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/30 06:37:50
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
chicagoland
|
I can't believe this is actually being discussed
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/30 07:01:49
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/30 16:57:51
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
chicagoland
|
yeah some people want the cake and eat it too.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/30 17:47:05
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
To be fair though, The question of what the Embarked Unit is actually doing when the Transport Deep Strikes is very debate worthy. Not only are there many implications, regardless which answer one's side supports, but the Rules do have problems to begin with. Don't just take a look at the wording of the Deep Strike Rule, though it is concerning, but also look at the terrible formatting used within this Rule. In order to read every Deep Strike related Rule you would need to flick through a dozen different locations within the Book, because the Authors felt certain elements where more specified to things like 'Arriving from Reserves' or what Unit Type the Deep Striking Model possess, so they are located in those areas of the book. The biggest head-ache I have of all is the fact this is a Rule which over-writes other Advanced Rules, no word on how this is legally possible, and then requires you to follow instructions in the Rule which is no longer being applied. This would not be much of a problem in a better written system, though any Game System should avoid it entirely, by including a set of instructions informing us exactly which parts of the other Rule are being utilized. Yes, 'Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves,' I am looking at you. Does the instructions 'as specified in the Rules for Reserves' mean just the D6 and how to determine if something is Arriving, or does it also includes the moving instructions within this section of the book? Others have used that clause as a piece of evidence that Deep Strike is movement, so very important to know....
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/30 17:50:47
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/30 18:18:48
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
chicagoland
|
JinxDragon wrote:To be fair though,
The question of what the Embarked Unit is actually doing when the Transport Deep Strikes is very debate worthy.
Not only are there many implications, regardless which answer one's side supports, but the Rules do have problems to begin with. Don't just take a look at the wording of the Deep Strike Rule, though it is concerning, but also look at the terrible formatting used within this Rule. In order to read every Deep Strike related Rule you would need to flick through a dozen different locations within the Book, because the Authors felt certain elements where more specified to things like 'Arriving from Reserves' or what Unit Type the Deep Striking Model possess, so they are located in those areas of the book.
The biggest head-ache I have of all is the fact this is a Rule which over-writes other Advanced Rules, no word on how this is legally possible, and then requires you to follow instructions in the Rule which is no longer being applied. This would not be much of a problem in a better written system, though any Game System should avoid it entirely, by including a set of instructions informing us exactly which parts of the other Rule are being utilized. Yes, 'Roll for the arrival of all Deep Striking units as specified in the rules for Reserves,' I am looking at you. Does the instructions 'as specified in the Rules for Reserves' mean just the D6 and how to determine if something is Arriving, or does it also includes the moving instructions within this section of the book?
Others have used that clause as a piece of evidence that Deep Strike is movement, so very important to know....
It's plain black and white man. You put mawlok inside the drop pod thingy. THE DROP POD DEEP STRIKES. mawlok comes out and shoots or borrows. Idk what people are arguing. And don't say it's poor GW rule writting cuz it's not.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/11/30 18:19:26
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/30 19:15:42
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
Sangheili, When one formats a Rule so its individual clauses are located in a dozen different places.... How is that not bad Writing in and of itself?
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/11/30 19:16:31
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/11/30 21:37:39
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
and how some like to bend/interpret rules.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/01 16:13:00
Subject: Mawloc in a Tyrannocyte
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
the transport arrived by deep striking, the model is disembarking from a deep striking transport.
the act of arriving by deepstrike calls out RAW that is has to deploy as per deepstrike, if you are not using the rules for deploying by deepstrike then by the rules as written you have not arrived by deepstrike.
there is no rules basis that the embarked model is arriving by deepstrike, or even counts as arriving by deepstrike, because it has not met the requied deploying by deepstrike rules.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/01 16:13:46
|
|
 |
 |
|