Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/06 22:28:02
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Odessa, TX, USA
|
If, say, an Imperial Knight has 2-3 units on it (or any single models units) can he split attacks?
Thanks!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/06 22:32:36
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Page 55, under "Directing attacks" (regarding multiple combats) second bullet: - A model that is in base contact, or engaged with, more than one enemy unit when it strikes blows, can split its Attacks freely between those units.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/06 22:32:44
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/07 02:05:55
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Bloodthirsty Bloodletter
Odessa, TX, USA
|
Excellent, thanks.
On a same note, can a single unit (IC, MC, etc) charge two units at once if they're close enough to make it into base contact with either?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/07 02:15:04
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Captain of the Forlorn Hope
|
CleverAntics wrote:Excellent, thanks.
On a same note, can a single unit ( IC, MC, etc) charge two units at once if they're close enough to make it into base contact with either?
Single model or single unit?
|
"Did you notice a sign out in front of my chapel that said "Land Raider Storage"?" -High Chaplain Astorath the Grim Redeemer of the Lost.
I sold my soul to the devil and now the bastard is demanding a refund!
We do not have an attorney-client relationship. I am not your lawyer. The statements I make do not constitute legal advice. Any statements made by me are based upon the limited facts you have presented, and under the premise that you will consult with a local attorney. This is not an attempt to solicit business. This disclaimer is in addition to any disclaimers that this website has made.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/07 02:32:01
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight
|
EDIT: should have read the question more closely.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/07 02:59:10
SHUPPET wrote:
wtf is this buddhist monk ascendant martial dice arts crap lol
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/07 02:37:57
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
CleverAntics wrote:Excellent, thanks.
On a same note, can a single unit ( IC, MC, etc) charge two units at once if they're close enough to make it into base contact with either?
A unit consisting of a single model cannot charge more than one unit at a time. For example a MC can only charge a single unit even if another is close enough to base both.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 10:46:11
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Shas'ui with Bonding Knife
|
Fragile wrote: CleverAntics wrote:Excellent, thanks.
On a same note, can a single unit ( IC, MC, etc) charge two units at once if they're close enough to make it into base contact with either?
A unit consisting of a single model cannot charge more than one unit at a time. For example a MC can only charge a single unit even if another is close enough to base both.
Where does it say that in the rulebook?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 11:21:26
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
It doesn't need to. The order of operations for executing a multicharge prevents single models from doing so because you have to move your first model into the primary charge target and only after that you are allowed to move the rest of your unit into secondary units. Since single model units only have a single model they don't have anything to move into other units.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 11:23:26
Subject: Re:Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
But that doesn't prevent them from calling multicharge and ending the move in base contact with models from both squads.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 11:31:00
Subject: Re:Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
koooaei wrote:But that doesn't prevent them from calling multicharge and ending the move in base contact with models from both squads.
you are required to go the shortest distance possible into the primary charge target with the first model. You aren't given permission to touch other units until you move the rest of the models in your unit.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 11:32:05
Subject: Re:Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
Actually, iirc there's nothing preventing you from going b2b with a secondary target squad. At least it was in the 6- th. That's how eldar player charged my boyz + grots.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/12/08 11:33:42
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 11:34:15
Subject: Re:Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Auspicious Daemonic Herald
|
koooaei wrote:Actually, iirc there's nothing preventing you from going b2b with a secondary target squad
There is nothing preventing you from simply declaring yourself the winner either.
You need permission to charge into into other units. the rulebook only gives that permission to the models that move after the first models charges.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 13:49:18
Subject: Re:Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Move Initial Charger
Once Overwatch is resolved, find the initial charger for the primary assault (the model in the charging unit closest to the primary target) and attempt to move it into base contact with the primary target, just as you would against a single target. If his charge fails, the charging unit doesn’t move at all.
If the initial charger successfully moves into base contact with the primary target, remaining models can charge models belonging to either the primary or secondary target units, as long as they follow the rules for moving charging models. That said, a charging model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in a secondary target, unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target.
Remaining models can charge models belonging to ....
Once a model has charged and moved into base contact with the primary target, it's not allowed to move any further.
So how would it end up in base contact with a unit he had to stay 1" clear off ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 14:32:40
Subject: Re:Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Daemonic Dreadnought
|
CrownAxe wrote:
There is nothing preventing you from simply declaring yourself the winner either.
And your point is?
CrownAxe wrote:
You need permission to charge into into other units. the rulebook only gives that permission to the models that move after the first models charges.
This is the correct interpretation. Squads consisting of multiple models can multicharge, but a single model needs to come into base contact with a target squad first. It's not possible for it to reach other units after charging.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 14:37:56
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
His point is that saying something doesn't make it true.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 15:13:54
Subject: Re:Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Decrepit Dakkanaut
|
koooaei wrote:Actually, iirc there's nothing preventing you from going b2b with a secondary target squad. At least it was in the 6- th. That's how eldar player charged my boyz + grots.
It was not true in 6th either. Or 5th. Or 4th*
ONLY second and following models are able to charge secondary targets. THat is explicitly stated in the rulebook.
*when multi charging had a whole host of other problems anyway
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 15:38:49
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Why has no one simply looked at the rulebook for the answer?
From page 55 under move initial charger for multiple assaults, in bold:
"A charging model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in a secondary target, unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target"
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/08 15:39:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 18:04:21
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Bojazz wrote:Why has no one simply looked at the rulebook for the answer?
From page 55 under move initial charger for multiple assaults, in bold:
"A charging model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in a secondary target, unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target"
Why haven't you looked at the more relevant part from the rulebook that I quoted four posts ago and instead quoted another less relevant rule ?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/08 18:11:28
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Another, less relevant rule? we quoted the exact same rule :/ I just focused on the part I felt was more relevant, as it specifically addresses going into base contact with the secondary target, which is what this entire thread is about. I felt this was more clear than "initial charger is not a remaining model, and can't move twice" You also provided some misinformation. The initial charger does not need to stay 1" clear of other enemy units, he is just not allowed to enter base contact with them unless they are the unit being charged. p46 under moving charging models: "with the exception that they can be moved within 1" of enemy models".
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/12/08 18:16:52
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/09 06:50:56
Subject: Re:Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
!!Goffik Rocker!!
|
Oh, so can go closer than 1' but can't get into b2b. Got it. Automatically Appended Next Post: Might help if you can't fit within 1' away.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2014/12/09 06:58:12
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 04:08:04
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
what happens if they are both primary and secondary are equidistant?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 04:34:14
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
The distance to the secondary target is irrelevant in determining which of the targets a model charges. The initial charger must charge the primary target and is disallowed from entering base contact with the secondary target. The remaining models can freely choose which target they charge, so long as they follow the normal rules for charging (so if there's an enemy model within reach that isn't currently in base to base, you have to charge that target).
Essentially, single model units cannot multiple assault.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 04:37:05
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
[MOD]
Making Stuff
|
Bojazz wrote:The remaining models can freely choose which target they charge, ....
No, they can't.
The Rulebook wrote:That said, a charging model is not permitted to move into base contact with a model in a secondary target, unless it cannot move into base contact with an unengaged model in the primary target.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2014/12/12 04:46:31
Subject: Single Models & Multiple Enemy Units
|
 |
Foolproof Falcon Pilot
|
Bah, I THOUGHT I read that somewhere, but I glanced through and didn't see it the second time. Thanks for the correction!
|
|
 |
 |
|