Switch Theme:

Disembarked dedicated transports  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Stalwart Space Marine





I have some questions about dedicated transports - in particular the Rhino and Land Speeder Storm

When the unit exits disembark, what happens to the transports themselves?

If they are able to move, are they still part of the unit or can they move independently?

Are they counted as scoring units if they were part of troop choices?

And finally what happens to the weapons on these transports - e.g. the stormbolter on the rhino and heavy bolter on the land speeder storm that have models manning them, do we assume that they are fired by the remaining the crew of the transport?

Thank you.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

What leads you to believe that a dedicated transport is a part of the squad?

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Judgemental Grey Knight Justicar





Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

 timmythetool wrote:
I have some questions about dedicated transports - in particular the Rhino and Land Speeder Storm

When the unit exits disembark, what happens to the transports themselves?

If they are able to move, can they move independently?


Yes, the transport is a unit itself and behaves as such.


are they still part of the unit or


The transport is and always was its own unit


Are they counted as scoring units if they were part of troop choices?


Yes, the unit remains a choice from the slot it was chosen in.

And finally what happens to the weapons on these transports - e.g. the stormbolter on the rhino and heavy bolter on the land speeder storm that have models manning them, do we assume that they are fired by the remaining the crew of the transport?


The transport is its own unit and continues to behave as such regardless of passengers.
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

Also, it's important to note that ALL units except Swooping FMCs and Zooming Flyers are scoring, they don't have to be troops anymore.

It sounds like you've just got to go back to the rulebook and re-read the transports section as it covers all of your questions rather clearly. It starts on Page 80.
Disembarking is on page 81.
Dedicated Transports on page 82 (for transport FOC role).
   
Made in gb
Stalwart Space Marine





 Ghaz wrote:
What leads you to believe that a dedicated transport is a part of the squad?

Because you can't choose them by themselves - I can't just spend 35 points on a rhino, I have to have it with a unit.

If I had tactical squad in one rhino and an assault squad in another, would one be a troop and the other a fast attack?

Could I park the troop rhino on an objective and have it score at end of the game and have the tactical squad wander off and do something else?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Bojazz wrote:
Also, it's important to note that ALL units except Swooping FMCs and Zooming Flyers are scoring, they don't have to be troops anymore.

It sounds like you've just got to go back to the rulebook and re-read the transports section as it covers all of your questions rather clearly. It starts on Page 80.
Disembarking is on page 81.
Dedicated Transports on page 82 (for transport FOC role).

Apologies - I forgot to mention that I am playing 6th edition.

I have the rulebook and it doen't mention what happens to transports after disembarking as far as I can see.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2014/12/15 20:06:20


 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 timmythetool wrote:
 Ghaz wrote:
What leads you to believe that a dedicated transport is a part of the squad?

Because you can't choose them by themselves - I can't just spend 35 points on a rhino, I have to have it with a unit.

Then how would you have the Rhino embark upon itself if its a part of the unit? Read 'Multiple Unit Choices' in the 'Battlefield Role' section of the rules.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

Ah alright, well for 6th edition rules pages:
- page 78 - Dedicated Transports - describes how the only difference between a transport taken as an option for a unit (also known as a dedicated transport) and a transport taken on it's own (which many codexes can do) is that they do not take up a force organization slot, and that the only unit that can begin the game inside of that transport is the unit it was purchased for.
- page 79 - Disembarking - describes the actions a Transport and its passengers can and cannot take after the passengers disembark.
- Page 123 - Scoring Units - Troops are scoring. Since page 79 tells us that a dedicated transport does NOT take up a force org slot, it is not a troops choice, and so is not scoring. There is also a bulleted list on page 123 of times when troops are *not* scoring. The first of which being "If it is a vehicle", so even if dedicated transports counted as troops choices, they would not be scoring.
- Page 71 has the rules for firing with vehicles. Since Transports are vehicles, they follow the normal vehicle rules for shooting. The confusion you had seems to stem from the fact that you thought the unit that purchased the vehicle also acts as the crew. This is not the case. Vehicles always come with a crew of their own that never disembark.

It's important to note that a lot of codexes CAN take transports by themselves. For instance, the Eldar can take a Falcon tank, which is a heavy support tank that can transport 5 models. So "Transport" is just a subtype of vehicles. They follow ALL the rules for normal vehicles (they're their own unit, they do not need passengers inside them in order to operate, etc), the only difference being that if they were purchased as an option for a unit (like a rhino is purchased as an option for a tac squad) then they do not take up a force org slot. Having models inside of a transport does not change it's role. the bulleted list on page 123 also states that models embarked on transports or buildings do not count as scoring, so you can't camp a rhino with a squad in it on top of an objective. The tac squad has to get out to capture the objective.

Hope this helped to clear stuff up!

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2014/12/15 20:56:52


 
   
Made in us
Painlord Titan Princeps of Slaanesh





I thought we was in 7th ed rules. I see that you last updated this 2014/12/15
   
Made in ca
Foolproof Falcon Pilot




Ontario, Canada

If you read up a little bit you'll note that timmythetool is playing 6th edition rules with his friends. The editing was just for grammar/clarity. But you are correct, the current edition of warhammer 40k is 7th.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: